Spirit Awards 2017: Winners in All Categories

Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney have won the Spirit Award for best screenplay for their poignant coming-of-age story Moonlight.

“Moonlight” editors Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders won the Spirit Award for editing and “Moonlight” cinematographer James Laxton won for cinematography. “Thank you for existing on this planet,” said Laxton in thanking Jenkins, who also directed.

Ezra Edelman’s “O.J.: Made in America” won the Best Documentary Award at the Spirit Awards.

“O.J.: Made in America” also won at the DGA and PGA and the International Documentary Assn. and is up for the Academy Award in that category. It premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival and qualified for the Oscars with a brief theatrical run in Los Angeles and New York before rolling out as a five-part miniseries on ABC and ESPN as part of ESPN’s “30 for 30” series.

When asked backstage if the O.J. Simpson story is over, Edelman said, “I don’t profess to be inside his head…but the story is not completely over — that’s my gut feeling.”
Ben Foster won for best supporting actor for his role as a desperate bank robber in the Texas-set Western “Hell or High Water.”

“This is why we do what we do,” a moved Foster said in his acceptance. “This is a room full of architects and poets.”

Robert Eggers took two trophies for best first feature and best first screenplay award for horror-thriller “The Witch,” set in the Puritan era.

German comedy-drama “Toni Erdmann” won the best international film.

Korean gay-immigrant drama “Spa Night” won the John Cassavetes Award for films made for $500,000 or less. “Thanks to my parents for understanding that their gay Korean-American son is their son,” said director-writer Andrew Ahn.

Film Independent’s 32nd Spirit Awards opened Saturday afternoon — the day before the Academy Awards — in a tent on Santa Monica Beach. Comedians Nick Kroll and John Mulaney of “Oh, Hello” fame co-hosted the awards with plenty of pointed political commentary as Kroll declared  “Steve Bannon — so hot!” early on.

“Donald Trump, you have a lot in common with Robert Durst,” Mulaney said. “Both from New York real estate empires. Yet somehow Durst is more likable”

A much-feared rain failed to materialize with the sun shining brightly. Colin Hanks opened the ceremonies by presenting the editing award.

The Spirit Awards are voted on by members of Film Independent and require that the films be produced in the U.S. for less than $20 million. “Spotlight,” “Birdman” and “12 Years a Slave” won both the Spirit Award and the Oscar best picture trophies, as did “The Artist.”

The full list of nominees is listed below. The winners will be noted in bold as they are announced.

Best Feature
“American Honey”
“Manchester by the Sea”

Best Director
Andrea Arnold (“American Honey”)
Barry Jenkins (“Moonlight”)
Pablo Larrain (“Jackie”)
Jeff Nichols (“Loving”)
Kelly Reichardt (“Certain Women”)

Best First Feature
“The Childhood of a Leader”
“The Fits”
“Other People”
“Swiss Army Man”
“The Witch”

Best Male Lead
Casey Affleck (“Manchester by the Sea”)
David Harewood (“Free in Deed”)
Viggo Mortensen (“Captain Fantastic”)
Jesse Plemons (“Other People”)
Tim Roth (“Chronic”)

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening (“20th Century Women”)
Isabelle Huppert (“Elle”)
Sasha Lane (“American Honey”)
Ruth Negga (“Loving”)
Natalie Portman (“Jackie”)

Best Supporting Male
Ralph Fiennes (“A Bigger Splash”)
Ben Foster (“Hell or High Water”)
Lucas Hedges (“Manchester by the Sea”)
Shia LaBeouf (“American Honey”)
Craig Robinson (“Morris from America”)

Best Supporting Female
Edwina Findley (“Free in Deed”)
Paulina Garcia (“Little Men”)
Lily Gladstone (“Certain Women”)
Riley Keough (“American Honey”)
Molly Shannon (“Other People”)

Best Screenplay
“Hell or High Water”
“Little Men”
“Manchester by the Sea”
“20th Century Women”

Best First Screenplay
“Jean of the Joneses”
“Other People”
“The Witch”

Best International Film
“My Golden Days”
“Toni Erdmann”
“Under the Shadow”

Best Documentary Feature
“I Am Not Your Negro”
“O.J.: Made in America”
“Under the Sun”

Best Cinematography
“American Honey”
“Free in Deed”
“Eyes of My Mother”

Best Editing
“Hell or High Water”
“Manchester by the Sea”
“Swiss Army Man”

John Cassavetes Award
“Free in Deed”
“Hunter Gatherer”
“Spa Night”

Robert Altman Award

Piaget Producers Award
Lisa Kjerulff
Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher
Craig Shilowich

Truer Than Fiction Award
Kristi Jacobson (“Solitary”)
Sara Jordeno (“Kiki”)
Nanfu Wang (“Holligan Sparrow”)

Someone to Watch Award
Andrew Ahn (“Spa Night”)
Claire Carre (“Embers”)
Anna Rose Holmer (“The Fits”)
Ingrid Jungermann (“Women Who Kill”)