Oscars 2021: Questlove, Dream Hampton, David Rockwell, Richard LaGravenese Join Production Team


Steve Granitz/WireImage
Rob Paine has been associated with the Oscars telecast for more than 20 years and returns as supervising producer. Paine has more than 200 television events to his name and has earned eight Primetime Emmy Award nominations, a Daytime Emmy Award nomination and a Peabody Award. His credits include Celebrating America, A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote, 12 Super Bowl halftime shows, The Kennedy Center Honors and the Primetime Emmy Awards.
Co-producer Jeannae Rouzan-Clay joins the Oscars team for the first time. She is a writer and producer, and the Vice President of Specials for Jesse Collins Entertainment. For more than 15 years, Rouzan-Clay has been at the helm of multiple television shows for major networks and streaming platforms including CBS, BET, VH1, Nickelodeon and Netflix. An NAACP Image Award-winning producer, her work includes such award shows as BET Awards, Black Girls Rock!, BET Honors, ABFF Honors and Soul Train Awards.
Co-producer Dionne Harmon joins the Oscars production team for the first time. She is the executive vice president of content and strategy at Jesse Collins Entertainment, where she oversees development and production of unscripted and scripted content. A four-time NAACP Image Award winner, Harmon has produced tentpoles and specials including A Grammy Salute to the Sounds of ChangeSuper Bowl LV Halftime Show Starring The Weeknd, John Lewis: Celebrating a Hero, BET Awards, BET Hip Hop Awards, Soul Train Awards and BET Presents Love & Happiness: An Obama Celebration.

Co-producer Raj Kapoor joins the Oscars for the fifth consecutive year, overseeing screen content and performances. His recent credits include the The Wonderful World of Disney: The Little Mermaid Live!Mariah Carey’s Magical Christmas Special, Grammy Awards, Primetime Emmy Awards, Academy of Country Music Awards, Latin Grammys, E! People’s Choice Awards, Stand Up to Cancer and several Disney Family Singalong specials.

Taryn Hurd rejoins the Oscars for the eighth consecutive year as talent producer. She also has served as talent producer on the past six Governors Awards ceremonies along with numerous television variety specials and award shows.

Amberia Allen returns as a writer for the Oscars for the second consecutive year. She has been a writer for The Daily Show with Trevor Noah and The Last O.G., and has written for numerous live awards shows and variety specials, including Golden Globe Awards, Primetime Emmy Awards and The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. In addition, Allen holds a PhD in Sociology from UCLA and has co-authored the annual UCLA Hollywood Diversity Report.

Rodney Barnes returns to the Oscars production team as a writer. A writer and producer, he is currently executive producer for an untitled HBO series about the 1980s Los Angeles Lakers, and showrunner, writer and creator of Things That Make White People Uncomfortable for HBO Max. Barnes has penned Marvel Comics’ The Falcon, Marvel/Lucasfilm’s Lando: Double or Nothing and Quincredible for the Lion Forge imprint. Other credits include Wu-Tang: An American Saga, The Boondocks and Everybody Hates Chris.

dream hampton joins the Oscars production team as a writer. An award-winning filmmaker and writer, her most recent works include the feature documentary Treasure, the HBO documentary It’s a Hard Truth Ain’t It, the BET documentary series Finding Justice and Surviving R. Kelly, which broke ratings records and earned a Peabody Award. hampton was named to the 2019 Time 100 list of most influential people in the world.

Richard LaGravenese is a first-time writer for the Oscars show. A film and television writer, director and producer, he earned an Oscar nomination for his original screenplay for The Fisher King. His other writing credits include Unbroken, Water for Elephants, The Horse Whisperer, Beloved, The Mirror Has Two Faces, The Bridges of Madison County, A Little Princess and The Ref. He wrote and directed such films as The Last Five Years, Beautiful Creatures, P.S. I Love You, Freedom Writers, the “Pigalle” segment in Paris, Je T’Aime and Living Out Loud.

Mitchell Marchand returns to the Oscars show as a writer. His credits as a comedy writer include such awards shows as BET Awards, Hip Hop Awards, UNCF Evening of Stars, MTV Video Music Awards, NAACP Image Awards and Primetime Emmy Awards. He has penned jokes for such A-list talent as Jamie Foxx, Anthony Anderson, Mike Epps, Kevin Hart and Chris Rock and created presentations for Oprah Winfrey, Tyler Perry, Quincy Jones and Kerry Washington.

Drummer, DJ, producer, author and founding member of hip hop group The Roots, Questlove joins the Oscars production team as the show’s musical director. He is the musical director for The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, for which The Roots serves as the house band. A five-time Grammy Award-winner, Questlove has held musical directing positions with such artists as D’Angelo, Eminem and Jay-Z. He executive-produced the documentary series Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America through his production company Two One Five Entertainment and will next direct a documentary about Sly Stone.

Production designer David Rockwell returns to the Oscars team. He previously served as production designer for the 81st and 82nd Oscars, the latter earning him a Primetime Emmy Award. Rockwell is the founder and president of Rockwell Group, an interdisciplinary architecture and design firm that emphasizes innovation. He has designed sets for more than 60 theatrical productions, both on and off-Broadway, including She Loves Me, for which he earned a Tony Award, Kinky Boots and Hairspray.

Lighting designer Robert Dickinson returns for his 32nd Oscars show. He has won 18 Emmy Awards, including three for Oscars telecasts. Additionally, Dickinson has been honored with two Daytime Emmy Awards. His credits include The Kennedy Center Honors, Grammy Awards, Primetime Emmy Awards, Tony Awards, Golden Globe Awards and Academy of Country Music Awards; Olympics ceremonies in Atlanta, Salt Lake City, Athens and Vancouver; the ceremonies of the European Games in Baku.