Chernobyl: Dominates BAFTA Awards in Virtual Ceremony


BAFTA Craft Awards: ‘Chernobyl’ Dominates in Virtual Ceremony


Liam Daniel/HBO

Chernobyl was the runaway winner at the BAFTA TV Craft awards, celebrating behind-the-camera talent and held for the first time virtually.

The HBO/Sky show — already a three-time Emmy winner — went into the awards with a commanding lead in terms of nominations, having amassed 11. It took home prizes in seven categories. Elsewhere, HBO/BBC’s His Dark Materials, which went into the night with five nominations, won two awards. Meanwhile, Aisling Bea won in the Breakthrough Talent category for her writing debut This Way Up, while Jesse Armstrong won the award for Writer: Drama for Succession.

The awards were hosted by Stephen Mangan from a socially-distanced studio, and broadcasted as-live on BAFTA’s social media channels.

The BAFTA TV Craft awards were initially due to be held in April but were postponed due to the coronavirus and moved to an online format. The main BAFTA TV Awards – due to take place in May – are now being held July 31, this time with a live show being broadcast from a closed studio.

See the full list of winners below.

Breakthrough Talent
Aisling Bea (Writer) — This Way Up (WINNER)

Aneil Karia (Director) — Pure (Ep 3)
Laurie Nunn (Writer) — Sex Education
Sean Buckley (Writer) — Responsible Child

Costume Design
Caroline Mccall — His Dark Materials
Joanna Eatwell — Beecham House
Michele Clapton — Game Of Thrones
Odile Dicks-Mireaux — Chernobyl (WINNER)

Director: Factual
Arthur Cary — The Last Survivors (WINNER)
Dan Reed — Leaving Neverland
Mark Lewis — Don’t F**K With Cats: Hunting An Internet Killer
Robin Barnwell — Undercover: Inside China’s Digital Gulag (Exposure)

Director: Fiction 
Harry Bradbeer — Fleabag
Johan Renck — Chernobyl (WINNER)
Shane Meadows — The Virtues
Toby Haynes — Brexit: The Uncivil War

Director: Multi-Camera 
Bridget Caldwell — The Royal British Legion Festival Of Remembrance
Janet Fraser Crook — Glastonbury 2019 (WINNER)
Matthew Griffiths — Six Nations 2019 – Wales V England
Paul Mcnamara — Itv Racing: Cheltenham Festival

Editing: Factual
Andy R. Worboys — Untouchable: The Rise And Fall Of Harvey Weinstein
Jules Cornell — Leaving Neverland
Kim Horton — 63 Up
Michael Harte — Don’t F**K With Cats: Hunting An Internet Killer (WINNER)

Editing: Fiction
Dan Crinnion — Killing Eve (Episode 4)
Elen Pierce Lewis — Giri/Haji
Gary Dollner — Fleabag
Simon Smith, Jinx Godfrey — Chernobyl (WINNER)

Entertainment Craft Team 
Amber Rimell, Bronski, Misty Buckley, Tim Routledge — Glastonbury 2019 (Stormzy)
David Bishop, Vicky Gill, Andy Tapley, Patrick Doherty — Strictly Come Dancing (WINNER)
Mark Busk-Cowley, Steve Kruger, Iain Stirling, James Tinsley — Love Island
Nigel Catmur, Patrick Doherty, Kevin Duff, Andrew Stokes — The Royal British Legion Festival Of Remembrance

Make Up & Hair Design 
Daniel Parker, Barrie Gower — Chernobyl
Inma Azorin — The Trial Of Christine Keeler
Kirstin Chalmers — Catherine The Great
Loz Schiavo — Peaky Blinders (WINNER)

Original Music
Adrian Johnston — Giri/Haji
Andrew Phillips — War In The Blood
David Holmes, Keefus Ciancia — Killing Eve
Hildur Gudnadóttir — Chernobyl (WINNER)

Photography: Factual 
Bertie Gregory, Howard Bourne, John Shier — Seven Worlds, One Planet (WINNER)
Doug Anderson, Roger Horrocks, Gavin Thurston — Our Planet (Coastal Seas)
Jamie Mcpherson, Hector Skevington-Postles, Barrie Britton — Our Planet (Frozen Worlds)
Patrick Smith, Neil Harvey — Untouchable: The Rise And Fall Of Harvey Weinstein

Photography & Lighting: Fiction 
Adriano Goldman — The Crown
Jakob Ihre — Chernobyl (WINNER)
Joe Anderson — Top Boy
Suzie Lavelle — His Dark Materials (Episode 3)

Production Design
Laurence Dorman, Linda Wilson — Killing Eve
Luke Hull, Claire Levinson-Gendler — Chernobyl (WINNER)
Martin Childs, Alison Harvey — The Crown
Samantha Harley, Miri Katz — Sex Education

Scripted Casting 
Des Hamilton — Top Boy (WINNER)
Lauren Evans — Sex Education
Nina Gold, Robert Sterne — Chernobyl
Yoko Narahashi, Shaheen Baig, Layla Merrick-Wolf — Giri/Haji

Sound: Factual
Graham Wild, Kate Hopkins — Seven Worlds, One Planet
Graham Wild, Kate Hopkins, Tim Owens — Our Planet (One Planet)
Nick Fry, Steve Speed, James Evans, Nick Adams — Formula 1: Drive To Survive
Sound Team — Battle Of The Brass Bands (WINNER)

Sound: Fiction
Dillon Bennett, Jon Thomas, Gareth Bull, James Ridgway — His Dark Materials
Sound Team — A Christmas Carol
Sound Team — Chernobyl (WINNER)
Sound Team — The Crown

Special, Visual & Graphic Effects
Ben Turner, Chris Reynolds, Asa Shoul — The Crown
Framestore, Painting Practice, Real Sfx, Russell Dodgson — His Dark Materials (WINNER)
Lindsay Mcfarlane, Claudius Christian Rauch, Jean-Clément Soret, Dneg — Chernobyl
Milk Visual Effects, Gareth Spensley, Real Sfx — Good Omens

Titles & Graphic Identity
Alex Maclean — The Durrells
Elastic Catherine — The Great
Elastic, Painting Practice — His Dark Materials (WINNER) 
Light — Creative Ghosts

Writer: Comedy
Danny Brocklehurst — Brassic
Jamie Demetriou — Stath Lets Flats (WINNER)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge — Fleabag
Sam Leifer, Tom Basden — Plebs

Writer: Drama
Charlie Covell — The End Of The F***Ing World
Craig Mazin — Chernobyl
Jesse Armstrong — Succession (WINNER) 
Shane Meadows, Jack Thorne — The Virtues