Cannes Film Fest 2021: Winners List

Cannes Film Fest 2021: Winners List–Updating Live

The international jury, led by director Spike Lee, is announcing the winners of the 74th Cannes International Film Festival.

The jury for the 2021 Cannes Film Festival has begun announcing the winners of the 74th edition.

Led by director Spike Lee, the international jury will pick the winners, including the Palme d’Or for best film, from the 24 feature films in the official competition. The awards are being announced from the Palais, the festival’s main theater, on Saturday, July 17, starting at 7.30 pm local time. French broadcaster Canal Plus is also streaming the ceremony live.

Lee, who has appeared in Cannes with films such as BlacKkKlansman (2019) and Do The Right Thing (1989), is the first Black person to be president of the Cannes jury.

This year’s jury is also the first in Cannes history where a majority of the jurors, five out of nine, are women.

The 74th Cannes Film Festival kicked off July 6, two months later than usual, amid safety concerns due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Last year’s festival was canceled because of COVID-19.

The last year Cannes was held, in 2019, Bong Joon Ho’s Parasite won the Palme d’Or for best film, starting an awards run that would lead all the way to the Oscars, where the social dramedy would become the first non-English-language film to win the Best Picture Oscar.

Parasite also became a cross-over hit, earning more than $250 million at the box office worldwide.

The 2021 Cannes Festival closes with the out-of-competition screening of Nicolas Bedos’ French spy spoof OSS 117: From Africa With Love, starring Jean Dujardin, on July 17.

The winners are as follows:

Palme d’Or (revealed early accidentally by Spike Lee)

Grand Prix (two winners)
Asghar Farhadi, A Hero
Juho Kuosmanen, Compartment No. 6

Best Director
Leos Carox, Annette

Best Screenplay
Hamaguchi Ryusuke and Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car

Best Actress
Renate Reinste, The Worst Person in the World

Jury Prize
Memoria, Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Jury Prize
Ahed’s Knee, Nadav Lapid

Best Actor
Caleb Landry Jones, Nitram

Honorary Palme d’Or
Marco Bellocchio

Camera d’Or
Murina, Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic