McLeod, Norman Zenos: Director’s Career; Filmography

Norman Zenos McLeod was born on September 20, 1898l he died January 27, 1964).

He was educated at the University of Washington and spent two years as a fighter pilot in the Army Air Service in France during World War I.

McLeod made several successful and influential movies, such as Taking A Chance (1928), Monkey Business (1931), Horse Feathers (1932), Alice in Wonderland (1933), Topper (1937), Pennies from Heaven (1936), There Goes My Heart (1938), Merrily We Live (1938), Topper Takes a Trip (1939), Little Men (1940), Panama Hattie (1942), Jackass Mail (1942), and his last, Alias Jesse James (1959). Other memorable films directed by McLeod includes It’s a Gift (1934) with W.C. Fields, the Danny Kaye comedy, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (1947), and The Paleface starring Bob Hope (1948).

He was married to Evelyn Ward, whom he married in 1926, until his death on January 26, 1964, from a stroke at age 64.


Taking a Chance (1928)

Along Came Youth (1930)

Touchdown (1931)

Monkey Business (1931)

The Miracle Man (1932)

Horse Feathers (1932)

A Lady’s Profession (1933)

Mama Loves Papa (1933)

Alice in Wonderland (1933)

Melody in Spring (1934)

Many Happy Returns (1934)

It’s a Gift (1934)

Redheads on Parade (1935)

Here Comes Cookie (1935)

Coronado (1935)

Early to Bed (1936)

Pennies from Heaven (1936)

Mind Your Own Business (1936)

Topper (1937)

Merrily We Live (1938)

There Goes My Heart (1938)

Topper Takes a Trip (1938)

Remember? (1939)


Little Men (1940)

The Trial of Mary Dugan (1941)

Lady Be Good (1941)

Jackass Mail (1942)

Panama Hattie (1942)

The Powers Girl (1943)

Swing Shift Maisie (1943)

The Kid from Brooklyn (1946)

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (1947)

Road to Rio (1947)

Isn’t It Romantic? (1948)

The Paleface (1948)

Let’s Dance (1950)

My Favorite Spy (1951)

Never Wave at a WAC (1953)

Casanova’s Big Night (1954)

Public Pigeon No. 1 (1957)

Alias Jesse James (1959)