Sweet Adeline (1934): Mervyn LeRoy’s Screen Version of Jerome Kern and Hammerstein’s 1929 Musical, Starring Irene Dunne and Donald Woods

The versatile director Mervyn LeRoy helmed Sweet Adeline, a musical film adaptation of the 1929 Jerome Kern-Oscar Hammerstein II Broadway play, starring Irene Dunne and Donald Woods.


Irene Dunne as Adeline [Schmidt]
Donald Woods as Sid Barnett
Hugh Herbert as Rupert Rockingham
Ned Sparks as Dan Herzig
Joseph Cawthorn as Oscar Schmidt
Wini Shaw as Elysia (as Winifred Shaw)
Louis Calhern as Major Day
Nydia Westman as Nellie
Dorothy Dare as Dot
Phil Regan as Singer


Directed by Mervyn LeRoy
Written by Erwin S. Gelsey, based on Sweet Adeline 1929 musical by Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II
Produced by Edward Chodorov
Cinematography Sol Polito
Edited by Ralph Dawson
Harold McLernon (uncredited)
Music by Heinz Roemheld (uncredited)
Production and distribution company: Warner Bros.
Release date: December 29, 1934
Running time 82-95 minutes


“Sweet Adeline”, music by Henry W. Armstrong, lyrics by Richard Husch Gerard, sung by Hugh Herbert, Donald Wood

“We Were So Young”, sung by Irene Dunne, then a second time by Dunne, Phil Regan and chorus

“Play Us a Polka Dot”, sung by Dorothy Dare and others
“Here Am I”, sung by Dunne
“A Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight”, music by Theodore Metz, lyrics by Joe Hayden, sung by beer garden patrons
“Why Was I Born?”, sung first by Wini Shaw, then by Dunne
“Oriental Moon”, sung by Noah Beery
“Molly O’Donahue”, sung by Regan
“Lonely Feet”, sung by Dunne alone, then later by Dunne and a chorus
“I’d Leave My Happy Home For You”, music by Harry Von Tilzer, lyrics by Will A. Heelan, sung by Johnny Eppelite
“‘Twas Not So Long Ago”, sung by Joseph Cawthorn, Dunne, Regan, Herbert and Nydia Westman
“Pretty Little Jenny Lee”, sung by a barbershop quartet
“Don’t Ever Leave Me”, sung by Dunne