Small Axe: Steve McQueen’s Anthology Wins Best Picture from the Los Angeles Film Critics

Los Angeles Film Critics Announce 2020 Winners

Small Axe Movie Steve McQueen
Courtesy of Amazon

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA), one of the most important critics groups in the awards season, has announced their best films and performances, after Boston and New York last week.

Notorious for embracing foreign films and performances, the west coast group chose Neon’s “Parasite” and its director Bong Joon-ho last year, which went on to win the Academy Award for best picture and director.

The last time a LAFCA winner for best film failed to be nominated for best picture at the Oscars was in 2008 when the group chose the animated film “Wall-E” for their top prize. It should be noted that it was the final year of five available slots for the Academy’s top category. Since the expansion to ten best picture nominees, and then later to a “sliding scale” system, four of the LAFCA winners have gone on to win the best picture prize, including surprises like “Spotlight” and “Moonlight.”

See the full winners list below

Best Picture: “Small Axe” (Prime Video)
Runner up: “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)

Best Director: Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)
Runner up: Steve McQueen, “Small Axe” (Prime Video)

Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)
Runner up: Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)
Runner up: Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actor: Glynn Turman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)
Runner up: Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)

Best Supporting Actress: Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari” (A24)
Runner up: Amanda Seyfried, “Mank” (Netflix)

Best Animated Film: “Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)
Runner up: “Soul” (Pixar)

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction: “Time” (Amazon Studios)
Runner up: “Collective” (Magnolia Pictures and Participant)

Best Foreign Language Film:
Runner up:

Best Screenplay: “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features) – Emerald Fennell
Runner up: “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features) – Eliza Hittman

Best Cinematography: “Small Axe” (Prime Video) – Shabier Kirchner
Runner up: “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Joshua James Richards

Best Editing: “The Father” (Sony Pictures Classics) – Yorgos Lamprinos
Runner up: “Time” (Amazon Studios) – Gabriel Rhodes

Best Music/Score: “Soul” (Pixar) – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Runner up: “Lovers Rock” (Prime Video) – Mica Levi

Best Production Design: “Mank” (Netflix) – Donald Graham Burt
Runner up: “Beanpole” (Kino Lorber) – Sergey Ivanov

New Generation Prize: Radha Blank, “The Forty-Year-Old Version” (Netflix)

Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: John Gianvito’s “Her Socialist Smile”

Career Achievement: Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte

Legacy Award: Norman Lloyd