Amour: Best Picture by L.A. Film Critics

“Amour” was voted Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Stephen Farber, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA). The runner up was “The Master.”

“Once again, our group has awarded a diverse and bold group of films, including many international as well as American titles. This is evidenced by our decision not only to give ‘Amour’ honors for Best Picture, but also to share the Best Actress award between one of the great veterans of cinema and one of the most exciting new talents to emerge in the past few years” said Farber.

For the first time in its history, the group voted to introduce a Best Film Editing award, which was given to Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg for “Zero Dark Thirty.”

The 38th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Saturday, January 12 at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, Frederick Wiseman will receive the 2012 Career Achievement Award.

Award winners are:

PICTURE: “Amour”
Runner-up: “The Master”

DIRECTOR: Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

ACTOR: Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”
Runner-up: Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”

ACTRESS: [tie] Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” and Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”
SUPPORTING ACTOR: Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Amy Adams, “The Master”
Runner-up: Anne Hathaway,” The Dark Knight Rises” and ”Les Miserables”

SCREENPLAY: Chris Terrio, “Argo”
Runner-up: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”

ANIMATION: “Frankenweenie”
Runner-Up: “It’s Such a Beautiful Day”

Runner-up: “Footnote”

Runner-up: “Searching for Sugar Man”

NEW GENERATION: Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

FILM EDITING: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, ”Zero Dark Thirty”
Runner Up: William Goldenberg, “Argo”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”
Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., “The Master”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: David Crank and Jack Fisk, “The Master”
Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen,” Moonrise Kingdom”

MUSIC/SCORE: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, “The Master”



Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year’s Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA’s annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.

Aside from honoring each year’s outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award. In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned. LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films.