IDA Documentary Awards: Crip Camp Earns Best Feature

IDA Documentary Awards: Crip Camp earns Best Feature


Crip Camp - Sundance - U.S. DOCU - Publicity - H 2020
Courtesy of Sundance

Crip Camp, directed by Nicole Newnham and Jim LeBrecht, earned the best feature trophy at the International Documentary Association’s 2021 awards, which took place Saturday night via an online ceremony amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Netflix’s Sundance-opening documentary, from the Obamas’ Higher Ground company, about Camp Jened and the birth of the disability-rights movement also received the ABC News VideoSource Award. Elsewhere, Garrett Bradley picked up best director honors for Time, another Sundance title that chronicles a Louisiana woman’s tireless 20-year effort to secure her husband’s release from prison and landed at Amazon Studios.

Other high-profile projects to take home prizes at the 36th IDA awards included Nels Bangerter winning best editing and along with Kirsten Johnson best writing for Netflix’s Dick Johnson Is Dead, while Netflix’s John Was Trying to Contact Aliens, by director Matthew Killip, was named best short.

Honorary Awards handed out included Firelight Media earning the Pioneer Award; the Courage Under Fire Award going to director David France (Welcome to Chechnya); the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award going to Bradley; the Career Achievement Award picked up by director and producer Sam Pollard; Maria Ressa and Rappler taking the Truth to Power Award; and the Amicus Award going to producer Regina K. Scully.

“This has been an exceptionally challenging year for all these documentary storytellers. But their resilience, artistry and relentless search for the truth, often in the face of overwhelming odds, cannot but leave us with a sense of hope for the future. Documenting and investigating our world is essential work that reveals our common humanity and leaves an indelible impact,” Simon Kilmurry, executive director of IDA, said in a statement.

A complete list of this year’s winners follows.

Best Feature: Crip Camp (USA / Netflix. Directors and Producers: Nicole Newnham and Jim LeBrecht. Producer: Sara Bolder

Best Director: Garrett Bradley, Time (USA / Amazon Studios, Concordia Studio, The New York Times)

Best Short: John Was Trying to Contact Aliens (USA / Netflix. Director and Producer: Matthew Killip)

Best Curated Series: American Experience (USA / PBS. Executive Producers: Susan Bellows and Mark Samels)

Best Episodic Series: Last Chance U (USA / Netflix. Director and Executive Producer: Greg Whiteley. Executive Producers: Joe LaBracio, James D. Stern, Lucas Smith, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard)

Best Multi-Part Documentary: Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children (USA / HBO. Directors and Executive Producers: Sam Pollard, Maro Chermayeff, Joshua Bennett, Jeff Dupre. Executive Producers: John Legend, Mike Jackson, Ty Stiklorious, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller)

Best Short Form Series: POV Shorts (USA / PBS. Producer: Opal H. Bennett. Executive Producers: Justine Nagan, Chris White)

Best Audio Documentary: Somebody (USA / Topic Studios, The Intercept, the Invisible Institute, and iHeartRadio, in association with Tenderfoot TV. Reporters and Producers: Alison Flowers, Bill Healy and Sarah Geis. Host: Shapearl Wells. Reporters: Sam Stecklow, Annie Nguyen, Kahari Blackburn, Rajiv Sinclair, Henri Adams, Matilda Vojak, Dana Brozost-Kelleher, Frances McDonald, Diana Akmajian, Andrew Fan and Maddie Anderson. Associate Producer: Ellen Glover. Executive Producers: Jamie Kalven, Maria Zuckerman, Christy Gressman, Leital Molad)

Best Music Documentary: Universe (USA. Directors: Sam Osborn and Nicholas Capezzera. Producers: Esther Dere and Leah Natasha Thomas)

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award: People Like Me (USA / University of California Santa Cruz. Director/Producer: Marrok Sedgwick, Co-Editor: Jackson Patrick-Sternin)

Best Cinematography: The Earth Is Blue as an Orange (Ukraine, Lithuania. Cinematographer: Viacheslav Tsvietkov)

Best Editing: Dick Johnson Is Dead (USA / Netflix. Editor: Nels Bangerter)

Best Music Score: My Octopus Teacher (USA / Netflix. Composer: Kevin Smuts)

Best Writing: Dick Johnson is Dead (USA / Netflix. Writers: Nels Bangerter and Kirsten Johnson)

Pare Lorentz Award: My Octopus Teacher (USA / Netflix. Director: Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed. Producer: Craig Foster)

Honorable Mention: Crip Camp (USA / Netflix. Directors/Producers: Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht. Producer: Sara Bolder)

ABC News VideoSource Award: Crip Camp (USA / Netflix. Directors/Producers: Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht. Producer: Sara Bolder)

2020 IDA Documentary Awards Honorary Awards

Amicus Award: Regina S. Scully

Career Achievement Award: Sam Pollard

Courage Under Fire Award: David France, Olga Baranova, David Isteev and the filmmakers and activists from Welcome to Chechnya

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award: Garrett Bradley (Time)

Pioneer Award: Firelight Media

Truth to Power Award: Maria Ressa and Rappler