Different Loyalty, A (2004): Kanievska’s Espionage Drama, Starring Sharon Stone and Rupert Everett

Marek Kanievska’s fourth (and last) feature, A Different Loyalty, is a thriller inspired by the story of British traitor Kim Philby’s love and marriage to Eleanor Brewer in Beirut and his eventual defection to the Soviet Union.

The story, which is set in the 1960s, was written by Jim Piddock.  It stars Sharon Stone and Rupert Everett playing characters with fictitious names.

Though not credited, the story is based on Eleanor Brewer Philby’s 1967 book Kim Philby: The Spy I Loved, published in 1967.

A Different Loyalty was not released theatrically in the U.S., which might have prompted Kanievska’s retirement from filmmaking.


Sharon Stone as Sally Tyler Cauffield
Rupert Everett as Leo Cauffield
Julian Wadham as Andrew Darcy
Michael Cochrane as Dick Madsen
Anne Lambton as Cynthia Cauffield (as Ann Lambton)
Jim Piddock as George Quennell (based on Donald Maclean)
Richard McMillan as Angus Petherbridge (based on Guy Burgess)

Distributed by Lions Gate Entertainment
Release date: May 16, 2004
Running time: 96 minutes