Cannes Film Fest 1951: Year 4–Bette Davis (All About Eve) and Michael Redgrave (Browning Version) Win Top Awards

The 4th festival was held from April 3 to 20, 1951.

No festival was held in 1950, due to budgetary problems.

The Grand Prize went to the three different films, Miss Julie by Alf Sjoberg, Miracle in Milan by Vittorio De Sica, and Spiegel van Holland by Bert Hannstra.

Honorary Awards

The festival also honored Michele Morgan, Jean Marais, and Jean Cocteau with Victoire du cinéma français award.

Feature Film Competition

The following films were In Competition:

All About Eve by Joseph L. Mankiewicz

La Balandra Isabel llegó esta tarde by Carlos Hugo Christensen and Luis Guillermo Villegas Blanco

Balarrasa by José Antonio Nieves Conde

Bright Victory  by Mark Robson

The Browning Version by Anthony Asquith (UK)

Caiçara by Adolfo Celi

Il Cristo proibito by Curzio Malaparte

La Danza del fuego by Daniel Tinayre

Doña Diabla by Tito Davison

Édouard et Caroline by Jacques Becker

Der Fallende Stern by Harald Braun

La honradez de la cerradura by Luis Escobar

Identité judiciaire by Hervé Bromberger

Los Isleros by Lucas Demare

Juliette ou La clef des songes by Marcel Carné

Kavalier zolotoy zvezdy by Yuli Raizman

Különös házasság by Márton Keleti

Marihuana by León Klimovsky

Miracolo a Milano by Vittorio De Sica

Spiegel van Holland by Bert Haanstra

Fröken Julie by Alf Sjöberg

Musorgskiy by Grigori Roshal

Napoli milionari by Eduardo De Filippo

Los Olvidados by Luis Buñuel

Osvobozhdyonnyy kitay by Sergei Gerasimov

Past by Martin Frič

Il Cammino della speranza by Pietro Germi

A Place in the Sun by George Stevens (US)

Robinson warszawski by Jerzy Zarzycki

Rumbo by Ramón Torrado

The Sin of Harold Diddlebock by Preston Sturges

The Tales of Hoffmann by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger (UK)

Teleftaia apostolic by Nikos Tsiforos

Die Tödlichen Träume by Paul Martin

Die Vier im Jeep by Leopold Lindtberg

La Virgen gitana by Ramón Torrado

Jury Mmembers

The following were the Jury for the Feature films and Short films

André Maurois (France) (president)

Georges Bidault (France)

Louis Chauvet (France) (journalist)

De Rouvre (France)

Guy Desson (France) (MP official)

Jacques Ibert (France)

Gaby Morlay

Georges Raguis (France) (union official)

Rene-Jeanne (France) (critic)

Carlo Rim (France)

Louis Touchages (France)

Paul Vialar (France)

Alexandre Kamenka (France) (substitute member)

Paul Verneyras (France) (MP official) (substitute member)

Paul Weill (France) (lawyer) (substitute member)

Marcel De Hubsch (short films)

Marcel Ichac (France) (short films)

Fred Orain (France) (short films)

Jean Thevenot (France) (journalist) (short films)


Feature Films

Grand Prize: 3 Films

Miss Julie by Alf Sjöberg

Miracle in Milan by Vittorio De Sica

Spiegel van Holland by Bert Haanstra

Jury Special Prize: All About Eve by Joseph L. Mankiewicz

Best Actor: Michael Redgrave for The Browning Version

Best Actress: Bette Davis for All About Eve

Best Director: Luis Buñuel for Los Olvidados

Best Screenplay: Terence Rattigan for The Browning Version

Best Cinematography: José María Beltrán for La Balandra Isabel llegó esta tarde

Best Music: Joseph Kosma for Juliette ou La clef des songes