Asian Pacific Cinema and TV: Critics Choice Association to Celebrate November 4

Critics Association Unveils Honorees for Inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema and TV

Park Chan-wook, Zoë Chao and John Cho are among the artists and filmmakers who will be recognized November 4 at the Fairmont Century Plaza.

The Critics Choice Association (CCA, of which I’ve been a member since 2000) will be saluting established and emerging Asian Pacific Islander talent with new standalone event this awards season.

The Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema and Television will take place November 4 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

The CCA will also hold its second and fifth annual salutes to Latino and Black artists, respectively, later this year in advance of its centerpiece Critics Choice Awards, January 15.

“For a first-time event, it makes us immensely proud to showcase these films and shows and shine a light on these extraordinary individuals,” CCA member Kylie Mar, who will co-program and co-write the Celebration, said in statement.

Madelyn Hammond and Associates’ Madelyn Hammond and Javier Infante produce the event.

Sponsors include Delta Air Lines, Fairmont Century Plaza, GreenSlate, IMDbPro and Milagro Tequila.

Portions of proceeds from the Celebration will be given to Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment to help fund film production grant for one emerging filmmaker.

The inaugural honorees:

Icon Award

Actor James Hong (career achievement, recently A24’s Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Trailblazer Award

Producer and director Karyn Kusama (career achievement, film Destroyer, Showtime’s Yellowjackets)

Director (Film)

Park Chan-wook (MUBI’s Decision to Leave)

Director (Television)

Hwang Dong-hyuk (Netflix’s Squid Game)

Animated Film Award

Director and writer Domee Shi (Disney and Pixar’s Turning Red)


Soo Hugh (Apple TV+’s Pachinko)

Social Justice Award

Director and producer David Siev (IFC Films’ Bad Axe)

Actor (Film)

John Cho (Prime Video’s Don’t Make Me Go)

Actor (Television)

Nick Mohammed (Apple TV’s Ted Lasso)

Actress (Television)

Zoë Chao (Apple TV+’s The Afterparty)

Breakthrough Actor (Film)

Breakthrough Actress (Film)

Li Jun Li (Paramount’s Babylon)

Breakthrough Actress (Television)

Élodie Yung (Fox/Warner Bros. Television’s The Cleaning Lady)

Ensemble Award (Television)

Cast of Disney+’s Ms. Marvel

Rising Star (Film), presented by IMDbPro

Auli’i Cravalho (Hulu’s Crush)

Rising Star (Television), presented by IMDbPro

Park Eun-bin (Netflix’s Extraordinary Attorney Woo)