Abbot Elementary: Tops AAFCA TV Awards 

Abbot Elementary Tops AAFCA TV Awards

The fourth annual television honors will be held at an in-person luncheon on August 20.


The African American Film Critics Association has announced the main competition winners for its 4th annual AAFCA TV Honors, which will be presented at an in-person luncheon on August 20 at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles.

ABC’s Abbot Elementary and Netflix’s Ozark lead the pack as best comedy and best drama, respectively, with Abbot Elementary‘s Quinta Brunson tapped as breakout star.

Best actress has gone to Patina Miller for Starz’s Power Book III: Raising Kanan and best actor to Courtney B. Vance for AMC’s 61st Street. 

HBO collects the most awards (five in total), including A Black Lady Sketch Show for best writing and Issa Rae’s Insecure with the Impact Award.

The winners of the AAFCA TV Honors, which recognize outstanding achievements in television and streaming, are chosen by a jury of select members and were announced on Monday.

The full list of winners follows:

BEST TV COMEDY – Abbott Elementary (ABC)
BEST TV DRAMA – Ozark (Netflix)
BEST NEW SHOW – Bel-Air (Peacock)
BEST DOCUMENTARY – Black and Missing (HBO)
BREAKOUT STAR – Quinta Brunson
BEST ENSEMBLE – Swagger (Apple TV+) & Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty (HBO)
BEST WRITING – A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
BEST TV DIRECTING – Salli Richardson, The Gilded Age (HBO)
BEST TV ACTING (Female) – Patina Miller, Power Book III: Raising Kanan (Starz)
BEST TV ACTING (Male) – Courtney B. Vance, 61st Street (AMC)

Ozark is produced by MRC Television, a division of MRC, which is a co-owner of The Hollywood Reporter through a joint venture with Penske Media titled PMRC.