Oscar: French Best Foreign Language Film (Entries, Nominees, Winners), 1956-Present

France is the only country that has submitted a film every year since the creation of the award in 1956.

It is also the only country which has been nominated at more than half of the occasions where the award was given.

All submissions were primarily in French, with the notable exceptions of the winning Portuguese-language Black Orpheus in 1959, which was a co-production with Brazil, and Mustang in 2015, which was in Turkish.

1948 (21st): Monsieur Vincent, Monsieur Vincent, Maurice Cloche, Honorary Award

1950 (23rd): The Walls of Malapaga, Au-delà des grilles, René Clément, Honorary Award

1952 (25th): Forbidden Games, Jeux interdits, René Clément, Honorary Award

1956 (29th): Gervaise, Gervaise, René Clément, Nominated

1957 (30th): Gates of Paris, Porte des Lilas, René Clair, Nominated

1958 (31st): My Uncle, Mon Oncle, Jacques Tati, Winner

1959 (32nd) Black Orpheus, Orfeu Negro, Marcel Camus, Winner

1960 (33rd): La Vérité, Henri-Georges Clouzot, Nominated

1961 (34th): Last Year at Marienbad, L’année dernière à Marienbad, Alain Resnais, Not Nominated

1962 (35th): Sundays and Cybele, Les dimanches de ville d’Avray Serge Bourguignon, Winner

1963 (36th): The Fire Within, Le feu follet, Louis Malle, Not Nominated

1964 (37th): The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, Jacques Demy, Nominated

1965 (38th): Pierrot le Fou Pierrot le fou Jean-Luc Godard, Not Nominated

1966 (39th): A Man and a Woman, Un homme et une femme, Claude Lelouch, Winner

1967 (40th) Live for Life, Vivre Pour Vivre, Claude Lelouch Nominated

1968: (41st) Stolen Kisses, Baisers volés, François Truffaut, Nominated

1969 (42nd): My Night with Maud, Ma nuit chez Maud, Éric Rohmer, Nominated

1970 (43rd): Hoa-Binh Hoa-Binh, Raoul Coutard, Nominated

1971 (44th): Ramparts of Clay, Remparts d’argile, Jean-Louis Bertuccelli, Not Nominated

1972 (45th): The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie, Le Charme discret de la bourgeoisie, Luis Buñuel, Winner

1973 (46th) Day for Night, La Nuit américaine, François Truffaut, Winner

1974 (47th): Lacombe, Lucien, Lacombe Lucien, Louis Malle, Nominated

1975 (48th): India Song, Marguerite Duras, Not Nominated

1976 (49th): Cousin, cousine, Jean-Charles Tacchella, Nominated

1977 (50th): Madame Rosa, La Vie devant soi, Moshé Mizrahi, Winner

1978 (51st): Get Out Your Handkerchiefs, Préparez vos mouchoirs, Bertrand Blier, Winner

1979 (52nd): A Simple Story, Une histoire simple, Claude Sautet, Nominated

1980 (53rd): The Last Metro, Le Dernier Métro, François Truffaut, Nominated

1981 (54th): Diva, Jean-Jacques Beineix, Not Nominated

1982 (55th): Coup de Torchon Coup de torchon, Bertrand Tavernier Nominated

1983 (56th): Entre Nous, Coup de foudre, Diane Kurys, Nominated

1984 (57th): So Long, Stooge, Tchao Pantin, Claude Berri, Not Nominated

1985 (58th): Three Men and a Cradle, Trois hommes et un couffin Coline Serreau, Nominated

1986 (59th): Betty Blue, 37°2 le matin, Jean-Jacques Beineix, Nominated

1987 (60th): Au revoir les enfants, Louis Malle, Nominated

1988 (61st): The Reader, La Lectrice, Michel Deville, Not Nominated

1989 (62nd): Camille Claudel, Bruno Nuytten, Nominated

1990 (63rd): Cyrano de Bergerac, Jean-Paul Rappeneau, Nominated

1991 (64th): Van Gogh, Maurice Pialat, Not Nominated

1992 (65th): Indochine Indochine Régis Wargnier, Winner

1993 (66th): Germinal Germinal Claude Berri Not Nominated

1994 (67th): Wild Reeds, Les roseaux sauvages, André Téchiné, Not Nominated

1995 (68th): French Twist, Gazon maudit, Josiane Balasko, Not Nominated

1996 (69th): Ridicule, Patrice Leconte, Nominated

1997 (70th): Western, Manuel Poirier, Not Nominated

1998 (71st): The Dreamlife of Angels, La vie rêvée des anges, Erick Zonca, Not Nominated

1999 (72nd): East/West Est-Ouest, Régis Wargnier, Nominated

2000 (73rd): The Taste of Others Le goût des autres, Agnès Jaoui, Nominated

2001 (74th): Amélie Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Nominated

2002 (75th): 8 Women, 8 femmes, François Ozon, Not Nominated

2003 (76th): Bon Voyage, Jean-Paul Rappeneau, Not Nominated

2004 (77th): The Chorus Les Choristes Christophe Barratier Nominated

2005 (78th): Joyeux Noël, Christian Carion, Nominated

2006 (79th): Avenue Montaigne, Fauteuils d’orchestre, Danièle Thompson, Made Shortlist

2007 (80th): Persepolis, Vincent Paronnaud and Marjane Satrapi, Not Nominated

2008 (81st): The Class, Entre les murs, Laurent Cantet, Nominated

2009 (82nd): A Prophet, Un prophète, Jacques Audiard, Nominated

2010 (83rd): Of Gods and Men, Des hommes et des dieux, Xavier Beauvois Not Nominated

2011 (84th): Declaration of War, La Guerre est déclarée, Valérie Donzelli, Not Nominated

2012 (85th): The Intouchables, Intouchables, Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache, Made Shortlist

2013 (86th): Renoir, Gilles Bourdos, Not Nominated

2014 (87th): Saint Laurent, Bertrand Bonello Not Nominated

2015 (88th): Mustang, Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Nominated

2016 (89th): Elle, Paul Verhoeven, Not Nominated

2017 (90th): BPM (Beats per Minute), 120 battements par minute, Robin Campillo, Not Nominated

2018 (91st) Memoir of War, La douleur, Emmanuel Finkiel, Not Nominated

2019 (92nd) Les Misérables, Ladj Ly, Nominated

2020 (93rd): Two of Us, Deux Filippo Meneghetti, Made Shortlist

2021 (94th) Titane, Titane, Julia Ducournau, Not Nominated