Springsteen and E Street Band to Release Magic, First Album in 5 Years

August 16, 2007–Bruce Springsteen and the E Street band will release their first album in five years on October 2, 2007. “Magic,” the first album with his E Street Band since the September 11-inspired “The Rising,” is Springsteen's return to rock 'n' roll after two acoustic-based efforts, “Devils & Dust” and “The Seeger Sessions.”

For Magic, Springsteen used producer Brendan O'Brien, who produced “The Rising” and Devils & Dust. Recorded over two months in Atlanta, Springsteen reunited with the full E Street Band: guitarists Steve Van Zandt and Nils Lofgren, bassist Garry Tallent, drummer Max Weinberg, keyboardists Danny Federici and Roy Bittan, saxophonist Clarence Clemons, violinist Soozie Tyrell and vocalist Patti Scialfa.

First single will be Radio Nowhere. Only one of the discs 11 tracks has been performed for a live audience, “Long Walk Home,” which made it into a set list on Springsteens Seeger Sessions tour.

The Rising has sold 2.1 million copies and the tour that followed its release generated a gross of more than $180 million despite the fact that Springsteen kept ticket prices under $90 a seat.
A tour is expected to begin in early October. Springsteen will promote the album on TV.