March 30-April 3: New Shows and Series

New Shows and Series

Julia Child

Sarah Lancashire stars in Julia (Thursday, HBO Max) a light look at the start of Julia Child’s TV career.

HBO Max has the unscripted series Brene Brown: Atlas of the Heart premiering Thursday. Paramount+ revives Nickelodeon favorite The Fairly OddParents with a new series subtitled Fairly Odder (Thursday).

Gary Oldman stars in espionage drama Slow Horses (Apple TV+, Friday), about a ragtag group of MI5 agents. Creator Stephen Merchant and Christopher Walken head the cast of The Outlaws (Friday, Prime Video), about a group of low-level offenders doing community service.

Pete Holmes stars in How We Roll (9:30 p.m. Thursday, CBS) as a man who chases his dream of becoming a professional bowler.

Ken Burns directs Benjamin Franklin (8 p.m. Monday, PBS), a four-hour film about the founding father.

On cable …

Sports: College basketball’s Final Fours are set, and both the women’s and men’s matchups feature traditional powers. The women tip off first, with Louisville facing South Carolina at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT Friday on ESPN, followed by UConn and Stanford. The men go on Saturday, with Villanova and Kansas at 6 p.m.. ET/3 p.m. PT on TBS and North Carolina and Duke in the second game. The women’s championship is at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT Sunday on ESPN, and the men’s final is at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT Monday.

TBS’ unscripted show Rat in the Kitchen (9 p.m. Thursday) is a cooking competition with a twist. One of the professional chefs and home cooks taking part is actually a saboteur out to undermine the others. Comedian Natasha Leggero and chef Ludo Lefebvre host