PGA Awards 2021: ‘Nomadland,’ ‘Minari’ and ‘Borat’ Nominees for Top Prize

PGA Awards: ‘Nomadland,’ ‘Minari’ and ‘Borat’ Nominees for Top Prize

Nomadland Minari Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Everett (3)

The guild also revealed its animated film and TV nominations with ‘Bridgerton,’ ‘The Crown’ and ‘The Mandalorian’ earning small-screen nods.

The Producers Guild of America on Monday unveiled its movie and TV nominations.

Among the nominees for the PGA’s top prize, the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Picture, are several films hoping to land best picture nominations at the Oscars, including Borat Subsequent MoviefilmJudas and the Black MessiahMa Rainey’s Black Bottom, MankMinariNomadlandOne Night In Miami…, Promising Young WomanSound Of Metal and The Trial of the Chicago 7.

Several producers earned their first nominations Monday, including Borat star Sacha Baron Cohen and Nomadland filmmaker Chloé Zhao.

Ryan Coogler is nominated for the first time since winning for his feature debut Fruitvale Station in 2014.

Last year, 1917 took the Darryl F. Zanuck Award and went on to win three Oscars, though it failed to secure best picture.

Best picture frontrunners not nominated for the top PGA honor this year include The Father and News of the World.

The guild also announced the nominees for its award for animated movies, recognizing The Croods: A New AgeOnward, Over the Moon, Soul, Wolfwalkers.

Among the TV nominations, Michaela Coel’s I May Destroy You is in the limited series race. The HBO dramedy was recognized in the same category by the SAG Awards, signaling where it will likely compete in the upcoming Emmys. 

The Queen’s Gambit, a clear awards favorite, is likely its biggest competition — though Normal PeopleThe Undoing and Unorthodox are also in the mix.

The PGA also allowed buzzy HBO Max series The Flight Attendant to compete in that category despite its mixed tone and running a full hour. It will face off against Curb Your EnthusiasmSchitt’s CreekTed Lasso and What We Do In the Shadows.

Drama brings another boost of confidence for Shonda Rhimes’ Netflix debut Bridgerton. The freshman series is nominated against Better Call SaulThe MandalorianOzark and awards darling The Crown. The latter is nominated after huge wins at both The Golden Globes and The Critics Choice Awards.

Winners will be announced  March 24 in a virtual ceremony.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Motion Picture

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Producers: Sacha Baron Cohen, Monica Levinson, Anthony Hines

Judas and the Black Messiah
Producers: Charles D. King, Ryan Coogler, Shaka King

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Producers: Denzel Washington, Todd Black

Producers: Ceán Chaffin, Eric Roth, Douglas Urbanski

Producer: Christina Oh

Producers: Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Chloé Zhao

One Night In Miami…
Producers: Jess Wu Calder & Keith Calder, Jody Klein

Promising Young Woman
Producers: Josey McNamara, Ben Browning, Ashley Fox, Emerald Fennell

Sound Of Metal
Producers: Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche

The Trial of the Chicago 7
Producers: Marc Platt, Stuart Besser

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Croods: A New Age
Producer: Mark Swift

Producer: Kori Rae

Over the Moon
Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou

Producer: Dana Murray

Producers: Paul Young, Nora Twomey, Tomm Moore, Stéphan Roelants

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama

Better Call Saul (Season 5)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Bridgerton (Season 1)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Crown (Season 4)
Producers: Peter Morgan, Suzanne Mackie, Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Benjamin Caron, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert Fox, Michael Casey, Andy Stebbing, Martin Harrison, Oona O’Beirn

The Mandalorian (Season 2)
Producers: Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni, Kathleen Kennedy, Colin Wilson, Karen Gilchrist, John Bartnicki, Carrie Beck

Ozark (Season 3)
Producers: Jason Bateman, Chris Mundy, Bill Dubuque, Mark Williams, Patrick Markey, John Shiban, Miki Johnson, Matthew Spiegel, Erin Mitchell, Martin Zimmerman, Peter Thorell Danny Thomas

Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 10)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Flight Attendant (Season 1)
Producers: Greg Berlanti, Kaley Cuoco, Steve Yockey, Meredith Lavender, Marcie Ulin, Sarah Schechter, Suzanne McCormack, Jess Meyer, Raymond Quinlan, Jennifer Lence, Erika Kennair

Schitt’s Creek (Season 6)
Producers: Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, David West Read, Ben Feigin, Michael Short, Kurt Smeaton, Kosta Orfanidis

Ted Lasso (Season 1)
Producers: Bill Lawrence, Jason Sudeikis, Jeff Ingold, Bill Wrubel, Liza Katzer, Jane Becker, Jamie Lee, Kip Kroeger, Brendan Hunt, Tina Pawlik, Joe Kelly

What We Do in the Shadows (Season 2)

Producers: Jemaine Clement, Taika Waititi, Paul Simms, Scott Rudin, Garrett Basch, Eli Bush, Stefani Robinson, Sam Johnson, Marika Sawyer, Derek S. Rappaport

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

I May Destroy You
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Normal People
Producers: Lenny Abrahamson, Sally Rooney, Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Emma Norton, Anna Ferguson, Catherine Magee

The Queen’s Gambit
Producers: William Horberg, Allan Scott, Scott Frank, Marcus Loges, Mick Aniceto

The Undoing
Producers: Susanne Bier, David E. Kelley, Per Saari, Nicole Kidman, Bruna Papandrea, Stephen Garrett, Celia Costas, Deb Dyer

Producers: Anna Winger, Henning Kamm, Alexa Karolinksi

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

Bad Education
Producers: Fred Berger, Eddie Vaisman

Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Producers: Thomas Kail, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeffrey Seller

Jane Goodall: The Hope
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

What the Constitution Means To Me
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

60 Minutes (Season 53)
Producer: Bill Owens

The Last Dance (Season 1)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Laurel Canyon
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

McMillion$ (Season 1)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending

Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

8:46 – Dave Chappelle (Special)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Season 26)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 7)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 6)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Saturday Night Live (Season 46)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

The Amazing Race (Season 32)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo, Phil Keoghan

The Masked Singer (Season 3, Season 4)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

Nailed It! (Season 4)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 12)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Voice (Season 18, Season 19)
Producers: *Eligibility Determination Pending*