Oscar: Consecutive Winners–Acting Categories

In the entire history of the Oscars, only five performers have won consecutive Oscars in their respective fields: two Best Actors, two Best Actresses, and one Supporting Actor.

These lucky winners are (in chronological order):

Luise Rainer: The Great Ziegfeld, 1936; The Good Earth, 1937

Spencer Tracy: Captains Courageous, 1937; Boys Town, 1938

Katharine Hepburn: Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner? 1967; The Lion in Winter, 1968;

Jason Robards: All the President’s Men, 1976; Julia, 1938

Tom Hanks: Philadelphia, 1993; Forrest Gump, 1994