Oscar: Best Original Screenplay–Gay Nominees and Winners (LGBTQ)

LGBTQIA+ Nominees/Winners

Year Name Film Status


Noël Coward In Which We Serve Nominated
George Oppenheimer, War Against Mrs. Hadley, Nominated

1952 Terence Rattigan The Sound Barrier Nominated

1961 William Inge Splendor in the Grass Won

1965 Jacques Demy The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Nominated

1968 Arthur C. Clarke 2001: A Space Odyssey, Nominated

1969 Luchino Visconti The Damned, Nominated

1977 Arthur Laurents The Turning Point, Nominated

1979 James Bridges The China Syndrome, Nominated

1993 Ron Nyswaner Philadelphia, Nominated

1999 Alan Ball American Beauty, Won

2000 John Logan Gladiator, Nominated


Pedro Almodóvar Talk to Her Won

Todd Haynes Far from Heaven Nominated

2004 John Logan The Aviator Nominated

2008 Dustin Lance Black Milk Won

2010 Lisa Cholodenko The Kids Are All Right, Nominated

2015 Jonathan Herman Straight Outta Compton, Nominated