Oscar 2018: Honorary Oscars to Charles Burnett, Owen Roizman, Donal Sutherland, and Agnes Varda

Black director Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman, British actor Donald Sutherland, and French director Agnes Varda will receive honorary Oscars this year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced.

The prizes will be presented at the annual Governors Awards ceremony on Saturday, November 11.

The Academy’s Board of Governors made the decision at the group’s monthly meeting Tuesday night. It was the first meeting cinematographer John Bailey has overseen as AMPAS president since winning the position last month.

“This year’s Governors Awards reflect the breadth of international, independent and mainstream filmmaking, and are tributes to four great artists whose work embodies the diversity of our shared humanity,” Bailey said.