Oscar 2016: Winners in All 24 Categories (Complete Survey)

Best Picture

Spotlight (WINNER)
Producers: Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust

The Big Short
Producers: Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner

Bridge of Spies
Producers: Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt and Kristie Macosko Krieger

Producers: Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey

Mad Max: Fury Road
Producers: Doug Mitchell and George Miller

The Martian
Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer and Mark Huffam

The Revenant
Producers: Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Inarritu, Mary Parent and Keith Redmon

Producer: Ed Guiney

Best Director

Alejandro G. Inarritu, The Revenant (WINNER)
Adam McKay, The Big Short
George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road
Lenny Abrahamson, Room
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight


Best Actress in a Leading Role

Brie Larson, Room (WINNER)
Cate Blanchett, Carol
Jennifer Lawrence, Joy
Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years
Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant (WINNER)
Bryan Cranston, Trumbo
Matt Damon, The Martian
Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne, The Danish Girl
Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl (WINNER)
Jennifer Jason Leigh, The Hateful Eight
Rooney Mara, Carol
Rachel McAdams, Spotlight
Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs
Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies (WINNER)
Christian Bale, The Big Short
Tom Hardy, The Revenant
Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight
Sylvester Stallone, Creed

Best Animated Feature Film

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Inside Out (WINNER)
Producers: Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Producers: Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson and Rosa Tran

Boy and the World
Producer: Ale Abreu

Shaun the Sheep Movie
Producers: Mark Burton and Richard Starzak

When Marnie Was There
Producers: Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura
Best Original Screenplay

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Spotlight (WINNER)
Written by Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy

Bridge of Spies
Written by Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen

Ex Machina
Written by Alex Garland

Inside Out
Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; original story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen

Straight Outta Compton
Screenplay by Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; story by S. Leigh Savidge, Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff
Best Adapted Screenplay

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
The Big Short, Charles Randolph and Adam McKay (WINNER)
Brooklyn, Nick Hornby
Carol, Phyllis Nagy
The Martian, Drew Goddard
Room, Emma Donoghue

Best Cinematography

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
The Revenant, Emmanuel Lubezki (WINNER)
Carol, Ed Lachman
The Hateful Eight, Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road, John Seale
Sicario, Roger Deakins

Best Visual Effects

Ex Machina, Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett (WINNER)
Mad Max: Fury Road, Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams
The Martian, Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
The Revenant, Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

Best Film Editing

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Mad Max: Fury Road, Margaret Sixel (WINNER)
The Revenant, Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight, Tom McArdle
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
The Big Short, Hank Corwin

Best Costume Design

Mad Max: Fury Road, Jenny Beavan (WINNER)
Carol, Sandy Powell
Cinderella, Sandy Powell
The Danish Girl, Paco Delgado
The Revenant, Jacqueline West

Best Production Design

Mad Max: Fury Road (WINNER)
Production design: Colin Gibson; set decoration: Lisa Thompson

Bridge of Spies
Production design: Adam Stockhausen; set decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich

The Danish Girl
Production design: Eve Stewart; set decoration: Michael Standish

The Martian
Production design: Arthur Max; set decoration: Celia Bobak

The Revenant
Production design: Jack Fisk; set decoration: Hamish Purdy
Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Mad Max: Fury Road, Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin (WINNER)
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
The Revenant, Sian Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini

Best Sound Editing

Mad Max: Fury Road, Mark Mangini and David White (WINNER)
The Martian, Oliver Tarney
The Revenant, Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender
Sicario, Alan Robert Murray
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Matthew Wood and David Acord

Best Sound Mixing

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Mad Max: Fury Road, Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo (WINNER)
The Martian, Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
The Revenant, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montano, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson
Bridge of Spies, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin

Best Documentary Feature

Producers: Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Cartel Land
Producers: Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin

The Look of Silence
Producers: Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen

What Happened, Miss Simone?
Producers: Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom
Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Best Documentary Short

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness (WINNER)
Producer: Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Body Team 12
Producers: David Darg and Bryn Mooser

Chau, Beyond the Lines
Producers: Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck

Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah
Producer: Adam Benzine

Last Day of Freedom
Producers: Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman
Best Live Action Short

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Stutterer, Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage (WINNER)
Ave Maria, Basil Khalil and Eric Dupont
Day One, Henry Hughes
Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut), Patrick Vollrath
Shok, Jamie Donoughue
Best Animated Short Film

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
Bear Story (WINNER)
Producers: Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala

Producers: Richard Williams and Imogen Sutton

Sanjay’s Super Team
Producers: Sanjay Patel and Nicole Grindle

We Can’t Live Without Cosmos
Producer: Konstantin Bronzit

World of Tomorrow
Producer: Don Hertzfeldt

Best Original Score

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
The Hateful Eight, Ennio Morricone (WINNER)
Bridge of Spies, Thomas Newman
Carol, Carter Burwell
Sicario, Johann Johannsson
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, John Williams
Best Foreign-Language Film

Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
Son of Saul, Hungary (WINNER)
Embrace of the Serpent, Colombia
Mustang, France
Theeb, Jordan
A War, Denmark
Best Original Song

Kevin Winter/Getty Images
“Writing’s on the Wall” from Spectre (WINNER)
Music and lyrics by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

“Earned It” from Fifty Shades of Grey
Music and lyrics by Abel Tesfaye, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephan Moccio

“Manta Ray” from Racing Extinction
Music by J. Ralph and lyrics by Antony Hegarty

“Simple Song #3” from Youth
Music and lyrics by David Lang

“Til It Happens to You” from The Hunting Ground
Music and lyric by Diane Warren and Lady Gaga