Boyhood: Linklater’s Feature Sweeps Los Angeles Film Critics Awards

“Boyhood,” Richard Linklater’s 12-years-in-the-making epic of childhood, won four prizes from the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. on Sunday, including best picture, director, actress Patricia Arquette and editor Sandra Adair.

The IFC Films release, a critical favorite ever since its world premiere at the Sundance Film Festival in January, was also tapped for picture and director honors by the New York Film Critics Circle. The New York critics also honored Arquette, but for supporting actress, not lead.

Running a close second among the group’s favorites was Wes Anderson’s “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” which was honored for Anderson’s screenplay and Adam Stockhausen’s production design. The Fox Searchlight release was the runner-up for picture and director.

The other multiple prizewinner of the day was Polish director Pawel Pawlikowski’s black-and-white drama “Ida,” which won foreign-language film and supporting actress for Agata Kulesza.

The award for best actor went to Tom Hardy for “Locke,” in a surprising victory for Michael Keaton in “Birdman.” Although also strongly favored in the picture and director categories, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu’s film took only one prize, for Emmanuel Lubezki’s cinematography.

J.K. Simmons

Simmons won best supporting actor for “Whiplash,” adding to his earlier citation by the New York critics.

The animation prize went to Isao Takahata’s “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya,” while the award for documentary/nonfiction film was given to Laura Poitras’ “Citizenfour.”

In a tie, Jonny Greenwood (“Inherent Vice”) and Mica Levi (“Under the Skin”) shared the prize for music/score.

The New Generation prize went to “Selma” director Ava DuVernay.

As previously announced, Gena Rowlands will be receiving the group’s career achievement award.

A special citation will go to longtime LAFCA member Leonard Maltin.

The winners so far:

Picture: “Boyhood”
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Director: Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Actor: Tom Hardy, “Locke”
 Michael Keaton, “Birdman”

Actress: Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”

Supporting actor: J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”
Runner-up: Edward Norton, “Birdman”

Supporting actress: Agata Kulesza, “Ida”
 Rene Russo, “Nightcrawler”

Screenplay: Wes Anderson,The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, “Birdman”

Foreign-language film: “Ida”
“Winter Sleep”

Documentary/nonfiction film: “Citizenfour”
 “Life Itself”

Animation: “The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”
Runner-up: “The Lego Movie”

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”
Runner-up: Dick Pope, “Mr. Turner”

Production design: Adam Stockhausen, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Runner-up: Ondrej Nekvasil, “Snowpiercer”

Music/score: Jonny Greenwood, “Inherent Vice,” and Mica Levi, “Under the Skin” (tie)

Film editing: Sandra Adair, “Boyhood”
Runner-up: Barney Pilling, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

New Generation: Ava DuVernay, “Selma”

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video: Walter Reuben, “The David Whiting Story”