Oscar 2012: Nominations for Writers Guild Awards

Mixing mainstream and specialty titles, the Writers Guild of America have nominated John Gatins for “Flight,” Rian Johnson for “Looper,” Paul Thomas Anderson for “The Master,” Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola for “Moonrise Kingdom” and Mark Boal for “Zero Dark Thirty” for the guild’s original screenplay award.

Nominations for adapted screenplay went to Chris Terrio’s “Argo,” David Magee’s “Life of Pi,” Tony Kushner’s “Lincoln,” David O. Russell’s “Silver Linings Playbook” and Stephen Chbosky for “Perks of Being a Wallflower.”

The WGA, which announced the nominations Friday, will disclose the winners February 17 in simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York based on voting by the 12,000 guild members.

The nominations were chosen from 112 eligible screenplays: 44 in the adapted category and 68 in the original category. Unlike other guilds, the WGA excludes scripts that were not produced under its jurisdiction or that of a foreign guild such as Quentin Tarantino’s “Django Unchained” and William Nicholson’s “Les Miserables.”

Other notable WGA exclusions include The Impossible,” “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Anna Karenina” and “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.”

Golden Globe nominations for screenplay went to “Argo,” “Django Unchained,” “Lincoln,” “Silver Linings Playbook” and “Zero Dark Thirty”

Even with guild exclusions, the WGA Awards have been a fairly reliable indicator for Oscar winners in the writing categories. Woody Allen won the Oscar last year for “Midnight in Paris” in the original category, in which the WGA award and Oscars had matched in 12 of the past 18 years. Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash won the adapted screenplay Award for “The Descendants,” with category winners matching in 13 of the last 18 years.

The Oscar nominations will be unveiled Thursday. The writers branch composes about 7% of the Academy’s voting membership, or 401 of 6,378.