Oscar 2010: Tom Hooper (King’s Speech) is DGA Winner

“The King’s Speech” director Tom Hooper has won the Director’s Guild of America feature film award.

“Oh my God,” Hooper exclaimed on reaching the podium at the conclusion of Saturday night’s ceremonies at Hollywood and Highland.

Last year’s winner, Kathryn Bigelow (“The Hurt Locker”), made the presentation.  “This is really the biggest one,” Hooper said at the end of his speech.

“Speech” topped Darren Aronofsky for “Black Swan,” David Fincher for “The Social Network,” Christopher Nolan for “Inception” and David O. Russell for “The Fighter.”

Winners of the DGA trophy have matched Oscar winners in the category in all but six years since 1948.

Martin Scorsese won the drama series trophy for the launch episode of HBO’s Boardwalk Empire.” Segment topped another “Boardwalk” episode along with the final episode of “Lost,” the pilot of “Walking Dead” and “Mad Men.”

It was the second DGA trophy for Scorsese, who was too ill to attend Saturday’s ceremonies. He won the DGA feature film trophy in 2006 for “The Departed.”

Michael Spiller took the comedy series kudo for the “Halloween” segment of “Modern Family.” It topped the Madonna episode of “Glee” along with segs of “30 Rock,” “Entourage” and another episode of “Modern Family.”

The ABC series won the category last year for its pilot episode.

Mick Jackson won the TV movies-miniseries award for HBO’s “Temple Grandin”

Charles Ferguson won the documentary award for “Inside Job,” topping “Last Train Home,” “Client 9: the Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer,” “Waiting for Superman” and “Restrepo.”

“This is only my second film,” a moved Ferguson said.

Glenn Weiss won the musical variety trophy for “The 64th Annual Tony Awards.”

Eric Bross received the children’s program award for Nickelodeon’s “The Boy Who Cried Werewolf.”

Eytan Keller won the reality trophy for a segment of Food Network’s “The Next Iron Chef.”

Stacy Wall of Imperial Woodpecker received the commercials award.