Oscar 2009: SAG Actor Awards

April 06, 2009 -– The key deadlines and events leading up to the 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards — the night that actors honor their own — were announced today by SAG Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams. The prestigious industry event annually honors outstanding performances in motion pictures and primetime television, including the distinctive ensemble awards.

Submissions for the 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will open Monday, July 13, 2009, at www.sagawards.org/submissions. Nominations for the 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be announced Thursday, Dec. 17, 2009. On Saturday, Jan. 23, 2010, TNT and TBS will simulcast the annual presentation of the coveted Actor statuettes from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles at 8 p.m. ET/PT, 7 p.m. Central and 6 p.m. MT, marking TNT’s 13th Actors telecast and TBS’s fifth presentation of the SAG Awards ceremony.

Of the top accolades presented to performers, only the Screen Actors Guild Awards are conferred solely by members of Screen Actors Guild. The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members and the first to present ensemble and cast awards. Actor nominees are selected by separate film and television nominating committees, each consisting of 2,100 SAG members from around the country, randomly selected anew each year. All active members of SAG will receive ballots to determine who will receive Actors for the outstanding performances of 2009.

The Screen Actors Guild Awards are anticipated by audiences as an emotional, memorable evening of live television and are watched closely by the industry as a precursor of possible Oscar and Emmy recognition.

The 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild Awards, LLC. Jeff Margolis is the executive producer and director. Kathy Connell is the producer. JoBeth Williams, Daryl Anderson, Shelley Fabares, Paul Napier and Yale Summers are producers for SAG. Gloria Fujita O’Brien and Mick McCullough are supervising producers. Benn Fleishman is executive in charge of production.  More information is available online at www.sagawards.org.

Screen Actors Guild is the nation’s largest labor union representing working actors. Established in 1933, SAG has a rich history in the American labor movement, from standing up to studios to break long-term engagement contracts in the 1940s to fighting for artists’ rights amid the digital revolution sweeping the entertainment industry in the 21st century. With 20 branches nationwide, SAG represents more than 120,000 actors who work in film, television, industrials, commercials, video games, music videos and other new media formats. The Guild exists to enhance actors’ working conditions, compensation and benefits and to be a powerful, unified voice on behalf of artists’ rights. Headquartered in Los Angeles, SAG is a proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO. More information is available online at www.sag.org.