Oscar 2009: Banner Year for Animation

November 11, 2009–The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (AMPAS) has released the titles of the 20 films submitted for consideration in the animated feature category. The large number of contenders almost ensures that there will be five nominees (instead of three) this year.

Under the rules, there will be five contenders if there are at least 16 eligible films. Since many of the toons have not yet opened, it’s possible some will be disqualified but it’s highly unlikely that five or more will be KO’d. The list is:
The 20 submitted features are:
“Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel”
“Astro Boy”
“Battle for Terra”
“Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs”
“Disney’s A Christmas Carol”
“The Dolphin – Story of a Dreamer”
“Fantastic Mr. Fox”
“Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs”
“Mary and Max”
“The Missing Lynx”
“Monsters vs. Aliens”
“Planet 51”
“The Princess and the Frog”
“The Secret of Kells”
“Tinker Bell and the Lost Treasure”
“A Town Called Panic”
“Alvin The Squeakquel,” “The Dolphin – Story of a Dreamer,” “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” “Planet 51,” “The Princess and the Frog,” “The Secret of Kells” and “A Town Called Panic” have not yet had their Los Angeles qualifying run.   all the contenders must submit a print for review to make sure they qualify.
Films submitted in this category also may qualify for Academy Awards in other categories, including best picture, provided they meet the requirements for those categories.
The 82nd Oscar Awards nominations will be announced February 2, 2010 and prizes will be presented March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre.