Oscar 2008: San Diego Film Critics Honor Slumdog Millionaire

Dec 16, 2008–Slumdog Millionaire” was named by the San Diego Critics Society as Best Picture of 2008.  In addition to the top prize, “Slumdog” also won for director for Boyle, adapted screenplay, cinematography, editing and score.

Top acting honors went to Kate Winslet for “The Reader” and Mickey Rourke for “The Wrestler.”

The Body of Work prize for 2008 went to Richard Jenkins for his turns in “The Visitor,” “Burn After Reading,” “Step Brothers” and “The Tale of Desperaux.”

The San Diego Critics Society is made up of journalists from online, print, radio and TV outlets.

And the winners are:

“Slumdog Millionaire”


“The Dark Knight”

Foreign Language Film:
“Let the Right One In”

“Man on Wire”

Animated Film:

Danny Boyle, “Slumdog Millionaire”

Kate Winslet, “The Reader”

Mickey Rourke, “The Wrestler”

Supporting Actress:
Marisa Tomei, “The Wrestler”

Supporting Actor:
Heath Ledger, “The Dark Knight”

Original Screenplay:
Tom McCarthy, “The Visitor”

Adapted Screenplay:
Simon Beaufoy, “Slumdog Millionaire”

Anthony Dod Mantle, “Slumdog Millionaire”

Production Design:
Donald Graham Burt, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”

Chris Dickens, “Slumdog Millionaire”

A.R. Rahman, “Slumdog Millionaire”

Ensemble Performance:

Body of Work for 2008:
Richard Jenkins for “The Visitor”, “Burn After Reading”, “Step Brothers”, and “The Tale of Desperaux”

Kyle Counts Award:
The film program at the San Diego Central Library “for its outstanding contribution to film education and its commitment to eclectic and excellent free public film programs”