Oscar 2008: Annette Bening Elected to Academy Board

July 8, 2008–Annette Bening, elected to represent the actors branch, was among 14 voted to the board of governors, and the sole first-timer, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday.

Eight of the governors were re-elected to the board, including Robert Rehme representing execs, John Lasseter repping short films and feature animation and Kathleen Kennedy for producers.

Five of the remaining 14 had been elected at one point but had been off the board for at least one year, among them Martha Coolidge for directors, Arthur Hamilton for music and Don Hall for sound. Hall filled a seat left vacant by J. Paul Huntsman, who died earlier this year.

Fourteen of the 15 branches on the board are represented by three governors. Makeup is the only branch represented by just one governor.