Oscar 2007: Producers Guild Announces Best Picture Nominees

January 21, 2008–The Producers Guild of America announced Monday the 14 accredited producers for its previously announced five nominees for its top award. None of the films have more than three producers, unlike last year when “Little Miss Sunshine” had five and the Academy removed two of them from its list of accredited producers.

The Academy, which will announce its nominations early Tuesday, uses the PGA credit rules as a guideline in its own determination of producer credits for best picture Oscar nominees.

The PGA’s announcement listed:

Kathleen Kennedy and Jon Kilik for Miramax’s “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”;

Lainne Halfon, Mason Novick and Russell Smith for Fox Searchlight’s “Juno”;

Jennifer Fox, Kerry Orent and Sydney Pollack for Warner’s “Michael Clayton”;

Ethan Coen, Joel Coen and Scott Rudin for Miramax/Paramount Vantage’s “No Country for Old Men”;

Paul Thomas Anderson, Daniel Lupi and Joanne Sellar for Vantage/Miramax’s “There Will Be Blood.”

The winner of the PGA’s Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year award will be announced February 2 at the Beverly Hilton.

The PGA gave its Zanuck trophy last year to “Little Miss Sunshine” producers Marc Turtletaub, David T. Friendly, Peter Saraf, Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa.

Due to its rule limiting the number of producers to three for best picture nominees, AMPAS subsequently excluded Berger and Yerxa; “The Departed” wont the Oscar.

But the Academy decided in June that it would allow exceptions to the rule in extraordinary circumstances, without citing the “Little Miss Sunshine.”

The PGA, which has more than 3,600 members, also announced Monday the accredited producers in feature animation — Jerry Seinfeld and Christina Steinberg in DreamWorks’ “Bee Movie”; Brad Lewis in Disney/Pixar’s “Ratatouille”; and James L. Brooks, Matt Groening, Al Jean, Richard Sakai and Mike Scully for Fox’s “The Simpsons Movie.”

Documentary credits went to Phil Donahue and Ellen Spiro for Phil Donahue Prods./Mobilus Media’s “Body of War”; Irene Taylor Brodsky for HBO’s “Hear and Now”; Jim Brown, Michael Cohl and William Eigen for the Weinstein Co.’s “Pete Seeger: The Power of Song”; Michael Moore and Meghan O’Hara for TWC’s “Sicko”; and Steven Okazaki for HBO’s “White Night/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.”