Oscar 2007: Irish Film and TV Awards Honor Garage and The Tudors

February 18, 2008–The historical series The Tudors took 7 prizes at the Irish Film and TV awards on Sunday, the most any title has received in the event's five-year-history. The Henry VIII drama won the drama series/soap award, and actors Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Maria Doyle Kennedy, and Nick Dunning were honored for their performances.

The show's costume designer Joan Bergin, production designer Tom Conroy, and hair and makeup duo Jennifer Hegarty and Dee Corcoran were also winners on the night.

The feature pictures Garage and Kings each received four awards. Garage got the main film categories, taking Irish film prize and wins for helmer Lenny Abrahamson, lead Pat Shortt and scribe Mark OHalloran. Abrahamson and OHalloran had more reason to celebrate on the night as they also scooped TV director and script prizes for Prosperity.

The Gaelic-language picture Kings won prizes for supporting actor (Brendan Conroy), editing, sound and original score. The Tom Collins helmed pic also received a special award for a film or TV show in Gaelic.

Another big winner was Saoirse Ronan, who received the supporting actress prize and the Irish Film Boards rising star award for her part in Atonement. Ronan, who is nominated for supporting actress Oscar, lost out on a BAFTA last week to Tilda Swinton in Michael Clayton. Lenser Seamus McGarvey won prize for lensing Atonement.

Daniel Day-Lewis (There Will Be Blood) nabbed the international actor award, The Lives of Others took the international film award and Mel Gibson was presented with IFTA honor for outstanding contribution to world cinema.