Oscar 2007: Directors Guild Announces its Five Nominees

January 8, 2008–The Directors Guild of America announced this morning its five nominees for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2007.

They are (in alphabetical order):

1. Paul Thomas Anderson for “There Will Be
2. Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for “No Country For Old Men”
3. Tony Gilroy for “Michael Clayton”
4. Sean Penn for “Into The Wild”
5. Julian Schnabel for “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly.”

The nominations were announced by prexy Michael Apted at DGA headquarters. He noted that the nominated films were a diverse selection without any major studio blockbusters, such as last year's winner “The Departed.”

The nomination of the Coen brothers was only the sixth time in DGA history that a directing team has been nominated. Last year, Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris were nominated for “Little Miss Sunshine.”

The DGA winner and the Oscar winner for director have matched in 53 of the last 59 years, including last year, when Martin Scorsese won for “The Departed.”

The winner will be announced at the DGA Awards dinner and ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel on Saturday evening, January 26, 2008.

Nominees and Credits

Paul Thomas Anderson: “There Will Be Blood”
(Paramount Vantage)

Unit Production Manager: Daniel Lupi
First Assistant Director: Adam Somner
Second Assistant Directors: Eric Lasko, Ian Stone, Richard Oswald Second Second Assistant Director: Jenny Nolan

Joel Coen & Ethan Coen: “No Country for Old Men” (Miramax Films and Paramount Vantage)

Unit Production Manager: Robert J. Graf
First Assistant Director: Betsy Magruder Second Assistant Director: Bac DeLorme Second Second Assistant Director: Jai James

Tony Gilroy: “Michael Clayton”

Unit Production Manager: Christopher Goode First Assistant Director: Steve Apicella
Second Assistant Director: Michael Pitt
Second Second Assistant Directors: Matt Power, Jason Ivey

Sean Penn: “Into the Wild”
(Paramount Vantage)

Unit Production Manager: John J. Kelly
First Assistant Director: David Webb
Second Assistant Director: Dylan Hopkins Second Second Assistant Directors: John R. Saunders, Ian Calip

Julian Schnabel: “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
(Miramax Films)

Unit Production Managers: Stphan Guillemet, A.F.R., Jon Kilik First
Assistant Director: Stphane Gluck, A.F.A.R.
Second Assistant Director: Mathilde Cavillan

With the excpetion of Warner's “Michael Clayton,” which is the only big-studio film on the list, all the other helmers were nominated for art-specialty films, made by the likes of Miramax and Paramount Vantage, which dominates the list.