Oscar 2006: Editors Select Babel and The Departed

Feb 19, 2007–Babel editors Stephen Mirrione and Douglas Crise tied with The Departed editor Thelma Schoonmaker for best edited dramatic feature film at Sundays ACE Eddie Awards, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Virginia Katz took the nod for comedy/musical for Dreamgirls. The docu nod went to Jay Cassidy and Dan Swietlik for An Inconvenient Truth.

On the TV front, The Office editors Dean Holland and David Rogers took home the prize for best half-hour series.

Conrad Gonzalez, Keith Henderson, and Stephen Michael drew kudos for Prime Suspect 7 in the miniseries for non-commercial television category, while Kate Sanford won the prize for one-hour series for non-commercial television for The Wire.

Geoffrey Rowland, Eric Sears, Bryan Horne, David Handman and Mitchell Danton won the Eddie for miniseries or motion picture for commercial television for The Path to 9/11 (part II).

The Eddie for student editing went to Alex Lamb from Chapman University.

Tarantino Honored

Quentin Tarantino was feted with the nights Golden Eddie for filmmaker of the year. The prize was awarded to him by Daryl Hannah. In his acceptance speech, Tarantino declared, The best collaborations are the director-editor teams, where they can finish each others sentences. He acknowledged his own editor, Sally Menke, as his only, truly genuine collaborator.

John Soh and Frank J. Urioste both collected career achievement awards.

Over 1,000 people attended the evenings festivities, which was hosted by comedienne Julia Sweeney.