Oscar 2005: WGA Screenplay Nominations

Oscar 2005: WGA Screenplay Nominations

New York, January 4–The Writers Guild of America, West and The Writers Guild of America, East have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during 2005.

Nominees for Best Original Screenplay:

Cinderella Man, screenplay by Cliff Hollingsworth and Akiva Goldsman, story by Cliff Hollingsworth

Crash, screenplay by Paul Haggis & Bobby Moresco, Story by Paul Haggis

The 40 Year-Old Virgin, written by Judd Apatow & Steve Carell

Good Night, And Good Luck, co-written by George Clooney & Grant Heslov

The Squid and the Whale, scripted by Noah Baumbach

Nominees for Best Adapted Screenplay:

Brokeback Mountain, screenplay by Larry McMurtry & Diana Ossana, based on the Short Story by Annie Proulx

Capote, script by Dan Futterman, based on the Book by Gerald Clarke

The Constant Gardener, adapted by Jeffrey Caine, Based on the Novel by John le Carre

A History of Violence, screenplay by Josh Olson, based on the Graphic Novel by John Wagner and Vince Locke

Syriana, Screenplay by Steven Gaghan, based on the Book “See No Evil” by Robert Baer.

The awards will be presented on February 4, 2006 in New York and Los Angeles.