National Society of Film Critics: Best Director Award (1966-Present)

The National Society of Film Critics (NSFC) was founded in 1966 as a counterpart to the more middle-brow N.Y. Film Critics Circle (NYFCC).

Year          Director                       Film

1966          Michelangelo Antonioni, Blow-Up

1967          Ingmar Bergman, Persona

1968          Bergman, Hour of the Wolf and Shame

1969          Francois Truffaut, Stolen Kisses

1970          Ingmar Bergman, The Passion of Anna

1971           Bernardo Bertolucci, The Conformist

1972          Luis Bunuel, The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie

1973          Francois Truffaut, Day for Night

1974          Francis Ford Coppola, The Godfather, Part II

1975          Robert Altman, Nashville

1976          Martin Scorsese, Taxi Driver

1977          Luis Bunuel, That Obscure Object of Desire

1978          Terrence Malick, Days of Heaven

1979   Tie  Woody Allen, Manhattan; Robert Benton, Kramer Vs. Kramer

1980           Martin Scorsese, Raging Bull

1981            Louis Malle, Atlantic City

1982           Steven Spielberg, E.T.

1983           Taviani, Paolo and Vittorio, The Night of the Shooting Star

1984           Robert Bresson, Money (L’Argent)

1985           John Huston, Prizzi’s Honor

1986           David Lynch, Blue Velvet

1987           John Boorman, Hope and Glory

1988          Philip Kaufman, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

1989          Gus Van Sant, Drugstore Cowboy

1990          Martin Scorsese, GoodFellas

1991           David Cronenberg, Naked Lunch

1992           Clint Eastwood, Unforgiven

1993           Steven Spielberg, Schindler’s List

1994           Quentin Tarantino, Pulp Fiction

1995           Mike Figgis, Leaving Las Vegas

1996           Lars Von Trier, Breaking the Waves

1997           Curtis Hanson, L.A. Confidential

1998           Steven Soderbergh, Out of Sight

1999           Mike Leigh, Topsy Turvy

2000          Steven Soderbergh, Erin Brockovich and Traffic

2001           Robert Altman, Gosford Park

2002          Roman Polanski, The Pianist

2003          Clint Eastwood, Mystic River

2004          Zhang Yimou, Hero and the House of the Flying Daggers

2005          David Cronenberg, History of Violence

2006          Paul Greengrass, United 93

2007          Paul Thomas Anderson, There Will Be Blood

2008         Mike Leigh, Happy Go Lucky

2009         Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

2010          David Fincher, The Social Network

2011           Terrence Malick, The Tree of Life

2012          Michael Haneke, Amour

2013          Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis

2014          Richard Linklater, Boyhood







Multiple Wins

Two directors, American Martin Scorsese and Swedish Ingmar Bergman, won this award three times. Scorsese for 1976 Taxi Driver, 1980 Raging Bull, and 1990 GoodFellas.

Bergman earned the kudo for 1967 Persona, 1968 Shame, and 1970 The Passion of Anna.

Francois Truffau, Luis Bunuel, Robert Altman, Steven Spielberg, Mike Leigh, Clint Eastwood, Steven Soderbergh, Terrence Malick, and David Cronenberg each won the award twice.