N.Y. Film Critics Circle (NYFCC): Best Director

N.Y. Film Critics Circle (NYFCC): Best Director, 1935-present

1935 John Ford The Informer
1936 Rouben Mamoulian, The Gay Desperado
1937 Gregory La Cava, Stage Door
1938 Alfred Hitchcock, The Lady Vanishes
1939, John Ford, Stagecoach


1940 John Ford The Grapes of Wrath; The Long Voyage Home
1941 How Green Was My Valley
1942 John Farrow Wake Island
1943 George Stevens, The More the Merrier
1944 Leo McCarey Going My Way
1945 Billy Wilder The Lost Weekend
1946 William Wyler, The Best Years of Our Lives, Oscar winner
1947 Elia Kazan, Boomerang; Gentleman’s Agreement, Oscar winner
1948 John Huston, The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, Nom
1949 Carol Reed The Fallen Idol, Nom


1950 Joseph L. Mankiewicz All About Eve, Oscar winner
1951 Elia Kazan A Streetcar Named Desire
1952 Fred Zinnemann High Noon
1953 Fred Zinnemann, From Here to Eternity
1954 Elia Kazan, On the Waterfront, Oscar winner
1955 David Lean, Summertime, Nom
1956 John Huston, Moby Dick, No Nom
1957 David Lean, The Bridge on the River Kwai, Oscar winner
1958 Stanley Kramer, The Defiant Ones, O Nom
1959 Fred Zinnemann The Nun’s Story, O. Nom


1960 Jack Cardiff, Sons and Lovers, Nom
Billy Wilder The Apartment, Oscar winner
1961 Robert Rossen The Hustler
1962 No award given (newspaper strike)
1963 Tony Richardson Tom Jones, Oscar Winner
1964 Stanley Kubrick Dr. Strangelove, Nom
1965 John Schlesinger Darling, Nom
1966 Fred Zinnemann A Man for All Seasons
1967 Mike Nichols The Graduate, Oscar winner
1968 Paul Newman, Rachel, Rachel, Nom
1969 Costa-Gavras, Z, Nom


1970 Bob Rafelson Five Easy Pieces, Nom
1971 Stanley Kubrick A Clockwork Orange, Nom
1972 Ingmar Bergman Cries and Whispers, Nom
1973 François Truffaut, Day for Night, Nom
1974 Federico Fellini, Amarcord, Nom
1975 Robert Altman, Nashville, Nom
1976 Alan J. Pakula, All the President’s Men
1977 Woody Allen, Annie Hall, Oscar winner
1978 Terrence Malick, Days of Heaven
1979 Woody Allen, Manhattan


1980 Jonathan Demme, Melvin and Howard, Not Nom
1981 Sidney Lumet, Prince of the City, Not Nom
1982 Sydney Pollack, Tootsie, Not Nom
1983 Ingmar Bergman, Fanny and Alexander, Nom
1984 David Lean, A Passage to India, Nom
1985 John Huston, Prizzi’s Honor, Nom
1986 Woody Allen, Hannah and Her Sisters, Nom
1987 James L. Brooks, Broadcast News, Nom
1988 Chris Menges, A World Apart, Not Nom
1989 Paul Mazursky Enemies, A Love Story, Not Nom


1990 Martin Scorsese Goodfellas, Nom
1991 Jonathan Demme, The Silence of the Lambs, O Winner
1992 Robert Altman The Player, Nom
1993 Jane Campion The Piano, Nom
1994 Quentin Tarantino Pulp Fiction, Nom
1995 Ang Lee, Sense and Sensibility, Nom
1996 Lars von Trier, Breaking the Waves
1997 Curtis Hanson L.A. Confidential, Nom
1998 Terrence Malick, The Thin Red Line, Nom
1999 Mike Leigh Topsy-Turvy, Not Nom


2000 Steven Soderbergh, Erin Brockovich; Traffic, Oscar winner
2001 Robert Altman Gosford Park, Nom
2002 Todd Haynes Far from Heaven, Not Nom
2003 Sofia Coppola Lost in Translation, Nom
2004 Clint Eastwood Million Dollar Baby, Oscar winner
2005 Ang Lee Brokeback Mountain, Oscar winner
2006 Martin Scorsese, The Departed, Oscar winner
2007 Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, No Country for Old Men
2008 Mike Leigh Happy-Go-Lucky, Not Nom
2009 Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker, Oscar winner


2010 David Fincher The Social Network, Nom
2011 Michel Hazanavicius The Artist, Oscar winner
2012 Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty, Nom
2013 Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave, Nom
2014 Richard Linklater, Boyhood, Nom
2015 Todd Haynes, Carol, Not Nom
2016 Barry Jenkins, Moonlight, Nom
2017 Sean Baker The Florida Project, Not Nom
2018 Alfonso Cuarón Roma, Oscar Winner
2019 Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie Uncut Gems, No Nom


2020 Chloé Zhao Nomadland, O Winner
2021 Jane Campion The Power of the Dog, O Winner
2022 S. S. Rajamouli RRR, No Nom


Multiple Winners

John Ford, 4

John Huston, 3

Kazan, 3, 1947, 1951, 1954,

Robert Altman, 3, 1975, 1992, 2001

Woody Allen, 3, 1977, 1979, 1986

David Lean, 3, 1955, 1957, 1984

Ingmar Bergman, 2, 1973; 1983

Scorsese, 2, 1990; 2006

Ang Lee, 2, 1995; 2005

Terrence Malick, 2, 1978; 1998

Jane Campion, 2

Kathryn Bigelow, 2

Todd Haynes, 2


Spielberg has never won the NY Film Critics