Oscar: Foreign Language Film Winners by Year, 1956-Present

Foreign-Language Oscar-Winners by Year, 1956-Present

A study of the winners of the Foreign-Language Film Oscar shows that two national cinemas have dominated the contest: France and Italy.

1956 La Strada (Italy)

1957 The Nights of Cabiria (Italy)

1958 My Uncle (France)

1959 Black Orpheus (France)

1960 The Virgin Spring (Sweden)

1961 Through a Glass Darkly (Sweden)

1962 Sundays and Cybele (France)

1963 81/2 (Italy)

1964 Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow (Italy)

1965 The Shop on Main Street (Czechoslovakia)

1966 A Man and A Woman (France)

1967 Closely Watched Trains (Czechoslovakia)

1968 War and Peace (USSR)

1969 Z (Algeria)

1970 Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion (Italy)

1971 The Garden of Finzi-Continis (Italy)

1972 The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie (France)

1973 Day for Night (France)

1974 Amarcord (Italy)

1975 Dersu Uzala (USSR)
1976 Black and White in Color (Ivory Coast)

1977 Madame Rosa (France)

1978 Get Out Your Handkerchiefs (France)

1979 The Tin Drum (Federal Republic of Germany)

1980 Moscow Doesn’t Believe in Tears (USSR)
1981 Mephisto (Hungary)
1982 To Begin Again (Spain)

1983 Fanny & Alexander (Sweden)

1984 Dangerous Moves (Switzerland)

1985 The Official Story (Argentina)

1986 The Assault (the Netherlands)

1987 Babette’s Feast (Denmark)

1988 Pelle the Conqueror (Denmark)

1989 Cinema Paradiso (Italy)

1990 Journey of Hope (Switzerland)

1991 Mediterraneo (Italy)

1992 Indochine (France)

1993 Belle Eopque (Spain)

1994 Burnt by the Sun (Russia)

1995 Antonia’s Line (The Netherlands)

1996 Kolya (Czech Republic)

1997 Character The Netherlands)

1998 Life Is Beautiful (Italy)

1999 All About My Mother (Spain)

2000 Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (Taiwan)

2001 No Man’s Land


2004 The Sea Inside (Spain)


2006 The Lives of Others (Germany)