Oscar 2011: Visual Effects

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)  unveiled the 15 films in consideration for the Visual Effects Oscar.

Surprises on the list include the omission of Warner’s comicbook tentpole “Green Lantern” and the inclusion of Terence Malick’s “The Tree of Life.”

The films on the list are (n alphabetical order):

  • “Captain America: The First Avenger”
  • “Cowboys & Aliens”
  • “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2”
  • “Hugo”
  • “Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol”
  • “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides”
  • “Real Steel”
  • “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”
  • “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows”
  • “Sucker Punch”
  • “Super 8”
  • “Thor”
  • “Transformers: Dark of the Moon”
  • “The Tree of Life”
  • “X-Men: First Class”