Oscar 2006: DGA Nominations:

Jan 9, 2007–Bill Condon (“Dreamgirls”), Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris (“Little
Miss Sunshine”), Stephen Frears (“The Queen”), Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (“Babel”) and Martin Scorsese (“The Departed”) have been
nominated for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2006.

With the exception of Scorsese, all directors are first-time nominees. Frears did receive a nomination seven years ago for the TV movie “Fail Safe.”

DGA president Michael Apted made the announcement Tuesday morning at guild headquarters in Hollywood. The winner, to be decided by voting among the 13,000 DGA members, will be announced Feb. 3 in ceremonies at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

The winner of the DGA award will be a front-runner for the directing Oscar. The DGA winner and the Oscar winner have matched in 52 of the last 58 years, including last year when Ang Lee won both trophies for “Brokeback Mountain.”

The nominees were chosen by DGA members from over 400 eligible films with a theatrical release in 2006.

Nominees and Credits

Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, “Babel” (Paramount Vantage)
Unit Production Manager: Ann Ruark
First Assistant Director: Sebastin Silva

Bill Condon, “Dreamgirls” (Paramount)
Unit Production Manager: Patricia Whitcher
First Assistant Director: Richard Graves
Second Assistant Director: Eric Sherman
Second Second Assistant Director: Renee Hill-Sweet

Martin Scorsese, “The Departed” (Warner Bros.)
Unit Production Manager: Carol Cuddy
First Assistant Director: Joseph Reidy
Second Assistant Director: Amy Lauritsen
Second Second Assistant Director: John Silvestri

Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris, “Little Miss Sunshine” (Fox Searchlight)
Unit Production Manager: Michael Beugg
First Assistant Director: Thomas Patrick Smith
Second Assistant Director: Gregory Smith
Second Second Assistant Director: Kate Greenberg

Stephen Frears, “The Queen” (Miramax)
Production Manager: Sue Claverly
First Assistant Director: Stuart Renfrew
Second Assistant Director: Rickay Graysmark
Third Assistant Director: Lucy Egerton