Cannes Film Fest 2016: George Miller, Director of Mad Max: Fury Road, is President of the Jury

Oscar-nominated director George Miller (“Mad Max: Fury Road”) is the president of the 69th annual Cannes Film Fest, which runs May 11 to 22.

It will be the Australian filmmaker’s second year in a row on the Croisette. Last year, his post-apocalyptic blockbuster “Mad Max: Fury Road” unspooled in an out-of-competition Cannes berth, garnering major critical acclaim en route to more than $375 million in global box office.

The Warner picture is nominated for 10 Oscar Awards, including best director and best picture for Miller.

He previously won an Oscar for best animated feature for “Happy Feet” (2006), and received nominations for producing and writing “Babe” (1995) and for writing “Lorenzo’s Oil” (1992), for which Susan Sarandon earned a Best Actress nomination.

Miller is the latest high-profile English-language director to preside over the jury, following Joel and Ethan Coen in 2015, Jane Campion in 2014, and Steven Spielberg in 2013.

Miller has served on two previous Cannes competition juries: in 1988 under president Ettore Scola, when the Palme d’Or went to Bille August’s “Pelle the Conqueror,” and in 1999 under president David Cronenberg, when the top prize went to the Dardenne brothers’ “Rosetta.”