Tribeca Film Fest 2008: Alfredson's Vapire Tale Let the Right One In Wins Top Feature Prize

May 2, 2008–Tomas Alfredson's “Lat den ratte komma in” (Let the Right One In), about first love between a young boy and the vampire next door, won the feature prize as the Tribeca Film Festival named the winners of its seventh annual competition, in wwhich there were 120 features and 80 shorts from 40 countries.

Huseyin Karabey won the new narrative filmmaker aard for “Gitmek: My Marlon and Brando,” a true story about a love affair between a Turk and a Kurd.

Thomas Turgoose and Piotr Jagiello, in Shane Meadows' “Somers Town,” shared the acting trophy, while Eileen Walsh, from Declan Recks' “Eden,” drew the actress nod.

Documentary feature kudos went to Gini Reticker's “Pray the Devil Back to Hell,” about Liberian women who steered the 2003 peace accords. New doc filmmaker nod went to Carlos Carcas for “Old Man Bebo,” about a Cuban musician behind the mambo.

New York awards went to Daniela Zanzotto's “Zoned In,” about race and class in U.S. education, and Richard Ledes' “The Caller” a noir thriller about corporate corruption.

In the shorts categories, Steph Green's “New Boy” bested 35 other narrative shorts, while Jessica Habie's docu “Mandatory Service” beat 18 contenders; and student visionary Sasie Sealy's “Elephant Garden” topped 19 other entries.

The audience award will be announced during Saturday's broadcast.

The winning films will screen at AMC Village VII Sunday, with times and ticket info on the festival's website.

“It's especially gratifying and exciting to see that the members of our juries selected an extremely diverse group of films — in terms of both their themes and their countries of production — and that the majority of the prizes are going to filmmakers and performers who are all at an early stage of their careers,” fest artistic director Peter Scarlet said.

Jurors included thesps Oliver Platt, Whoopi Goldberg, Peter Dinklage and Molly Shannon; helmers Callie Khouri, Peter Hedges and Doug Liman; scribes Josh Schwartz and Jay McInerney; and producer Christine Vachon.