South by Southwest Film Fest 2009: Complete Program of Features and Docus

Feb 2, 2009–South by Southwest unveiled Sunday its complete lineup for this year’s festival, which will be held March 13-21 in Austin, Texas.

The nine-day festival and confab will feature 108 films, including 54 world premieres. Among the highlights are Spike Lee’s “Passing Strange,” Sebastian Gutierrez’s “Women in Trouble,” Wyatt McDill’s “Four Boxes,” David Lee Miller’s “My Suicide,” Tim McCanlies’ “The Two Bobs,” Cary Joji Fukunaga’s “Sin nombre,” Brant Sersen’s “Splinterheads,” Andrew Bujalski’s “Beeswax,” Kathryn Bigelow’s “Hurt Locker,” John Inwood’s “Exterminators,” Greg Mottola’s “Adventureland,” Joe Swanberg’s “Alexander the Last,” Duncan Jones’ “Moon,” Nash Edgerton’s “The Square,” Michael Paul Stephenson’s “Best Worst Movie” and Lynn Shelton’s “Humpday.”

They join previously announced films such as opening-night selection “I Love You, Man,” starring Paul Rudd, and Centerpiece screening “Observe and Report,” starring Seth Rogen.

The lineup, which also includes such documentaries as “Objectified, New World Order,” “RiP: A Remix Manifesto” and “Winnebago Man,” were selected from 1,511 feature-length film submissions.

Film conference and festival producer Janet Pierson said the lineup is “a great continuation of the quality SXSW is known for: plenty of compelling, new filmmaking talent across all budget lines; engaging documentaries ranging from the socially conscious to the hilarious; electrifying music films, prominent Texas themes; cutting-edge and smart Hollywood films; and an even greater exploration into global cinema.”

Eight films will vie for the narrative feature grand jury prize: “Artois the Goat,” “Bomber,” “Breaking Upwards,” “It Was Great, But I Was Ready to Come Home,” “Made in China,” “The Overbrook Brothers,” “That Evening Sun” and “True Adolescents.”


“Artois the Goat”
Director: Kyle Bogart. Writer: Cliff and Kyle Bogart

Director/Writer: Paul Cotter

“Breaking Upwards”
Director: Daryl Wein. Writer: Peter Duchan, Daryl Wein, Zoe Lister-Jones

“It Was Great, But I Was Ready to Come Home”
Director: Kris Swanberg. Writer: Kris Swanberg, Jade Healy, David Lowery, Ben Kasulke

“Made in China”
Director: Judi Krant. Writer: Judi Krant and Dan Sumpter

“The Overbrook Brothers”
Director: John Bryant. Writer: John Bryant and Jason Foxworth

“That Evening Sun”
Director/Writer: Scott Teems

“True Adolescents”
Director/Writer: Craig Johnson


Director: Bill Ross

“Garbage Dreams”
Director: Mai Iskander

“MINE: Taken By Katrina”
Director: Geralyn Pezanoski

“Say My Name”
Director: Nirit Peled

“Severe Clear”
Director: Kristian Fraga

“Sons of a Gun”
Director: Rivkah Beth Medow

“The Way We Get By”
Director: Aron Gaudet

“Trimpin: The Sound of Invention”
Director: Peter Esmonde


Director/Writer: Greg Mottola

“Alexander the Last”
Director/Writer: Joe Swanberg

Director/Writer: Andrew Bujalski

“Best Worst Movie”
Director: Michael Paul Stephenson

“For the Love of Movies: The Story of American Film Criticism”
Director: Gerald Peary

“Goodbye Solo”
Director: Ramin Bahrani. Writer: Ramin Bahrani and Bahareh Azimi

Director/Writer: Lynn Shelton

“Hurt Locker”
Director: Kathryn Bigelow. Writer: Mark Boal

“I Love You, Man”
Director/Writer: John Hamburg

“The Last Beekeeper”
Director: Jeremy Simmons

“Monsters from the ID”
Director: David Gargani

Director: Duncan Jones. Writer: Nathan Parker

“New World Order”
Director Andrew Neel and Luke Meyer

Director: Gary Hustwit

“Observe and Report”
Director/Writer: Jody Hill

“Passing Strange”
Director: Spike Lee. Lyrics: Stew. Music & Lyrics: Stew and Heidi Rodewald

“Sin Nombre”
Director/Writer: Cary Fukunaga

“The Square”
Director: Nash Edgerton. Writer: Joel Edgerton and Matthew Dabner

“Three Blind Mice”
Director/Writer: Matthew Newton

“The Two Bobs”
Director/Writer: Tim McCanlies

“Winnebago Man”
Director: Ben Steinbauer

“Women in Trouble”
Director/Writer: Sebastian Gutierrez


Director: Pat Holden. Writer: Kevin Sampson

“Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo”
Director: Jessica Oreck

“Brock Enright: Good Times Will Never Be The Same”
Director: Jody Lee Lipes

“Creative Nonfiction”
Director/Writer: Lena Dunham

“Crude Independence”
Director: Noah Hutton

“Four Boxes”
Director/Writer: Wyatt McDill

“The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle”
Director: David Russo

Director: Laura Longsworth

“Make-Out with Violence”
Director: The Deagol Brothers. Writer: The Deagol Brothers, Cody DeVos and Eric Lehning

“Modern Love is Automatic”
Director/Writer: Zach Clark

Director: Jennifer Steinman

“My Suicide”
Director: David Lee Miller. Writer: David Lee Miller, Eric Adams, Gabriel Sunday, Jordan Miller

“Pulling John”
Director: Vassiliki Khonsari

Director: Tony Ayres. Writer: Jason Gann, Adam Zwar

Director: Kate Turinski

“Sorry, Thanks”
Director: Dia Sokol, Writer: Dia Sokol and Lauren Veloski

Director/Writer: Brant Sersen

“St. Nick”
Director/Writer: David Lowery

“The Time of Their Lives”
Director: Jocelyn Cammack

“Trust Us, This Is All Made Up”
Director: Alex Karpovsky

“Wake Up”
Director: Jonas Elrod


“Calling E.T.” (Netherlands)
Director: Prosper de Roos.

“Favela on Blast” (Brazil)
Director: Leandro HBL

“The Forgotten Tree” (Mexico)
Director: Luis Rincon

“Journey to the End of Coal” (France)
Director: Samuel Bollendorff

“Love on Delivery” (Denmark)
Director: Janus Metz.

“Roadsworth: Crossing the Line” (Canada)
Director: Alan Kohl

“Snowblind” (England)
Director: Vikram Jayanti

“Sounds Like Teen Spirit…a popumentary” (England)
Director: Jamie Johnson.

“Ticket to Paradise” (Denmark)
Director: Janus Metz.


“Anvil! The Story of Anvil”
Director: Sacha Gervasi

“All Tomorrow’s Parties”
Director: All Tomorrow’s People

“Youssou Ndour: I Bring What I Love”
Director: Chai Vasarhelyi

“Intangible Assets Number 82”
Director: Emma Franz

“Number One with A Bullet”
Director: Jim Dziura

“The Promised Land – A Swamp Pop Journey”
Director: Matthew Wilkinson

“RiP: A Remix Manifesto”
Director: Brett Gaylor

“Soul Power”
Director: Jeffrey Levy-Hinte

“When You’re Strange”
Director: Tom DiCillo


“American Violet”
Director: Tim Disney. Writer: Bill Haney

“Blaze Foley Inside”
Director: Kevin Triplett

Director: John Inwood. Writer: Suzanne Weinert

“The Least of These”
Director: Clark Lyda

“Over the Hills and Far Away”
Director: Michel Orion Scott

Director: Karen Skloss


“A Film With Me In It”
Director: Ian Fitzgibbon

“The Ceremony”
Director/Writer: James Palmer

Director/Writer: Paul Solet

“Lake Mungo”
Director/Writer: Joel Anderson

“Trailers from with Joe Dante – LIVE PRESENTATION”

Director: Javor Gardev. Writer: Vladislav Todorov


“American Prince”
Director: Tommy Palotta

“Berlin Calling”
Director/Writer: Hannes Stoehr

“Blood Trail”
Director: Richard Parry

“Burma VJ”
Director: Anders Ostergaard

“Daytime Drinking”
Director/Writer: NOH Young-seok

“For All Mankind”
Director: Al Reinart

“De Ofrivilliga (Involuntary)”
Director: Ruben Östlund. Writer: Erik Hemmendorff and Ruben Östlund

“It Came From Kuchar”
Director: Jennifer M. Kroot

“Know Your Mushrooms”
Director: Ron Mann

“Letters to the President”
Director: Petr Lom

“Office Space – 10th Anniversary “- LIVE PRESENTATION””
Director Mike Judge will present a special screening of the cult phenomenon film on the occasion of its 10th Anniversary.

“The Paranoids”
Director: Gabriel Medina. Writer: Gabriel Medina and Nicolas Gueilburt

“Saint Misbehavin: The Life and Time of Wavy Gravy”
Director: Michelle Esrick

“The Snake”
Director/Writer: Adam Goldstein and Eric Kutner

Director: Zachary Levy

“Sweethearts of the Rodeo”
Director: Bradley Beesley

“We Live in Public”
Director: Ondi Timor

“The Yes Men Fix the World”
Director: Andy Bichlbaum, Mike Bonanno and Kurt Engfehr

“You Won’t Miss Me”
Director: Ry Russo-Young. Writer: Ry Russo-Young and Stella Schnabel