Cannes Film Fest 2006: Year 59–Winners of Major Awards–Loach, Almodovar, Inarritu

The 2006 Festival de Cannes announced tonight its awards:

Palme d’Or:
“The Wind That Shakes The Barley” by Ken Loach

Grand Prix (runner-up):
“Flanders” by Bruno Dumont

Prix de la Mise en Scene (Best Director):
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for “Babel”

Prix du Scenario (Best Screenplay Award):
Pedro Almodovar for “Volver”

Camera d’Or (For best first feature):
“A Fost sau n-a fost” (12:08 East of Bucharest) by Corneliu Porumbolu

Prix du Jury (Jury Prize):
“Red Road” by Andrea Arnold

Prix d’interpretation feminine (Best Actress):
Ensemble female cast of “Volver” by Pedro Almodovar (Penelope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Duenas, Blanca Portillo, Yohana Cobo, Chus Lampreave)

Prix d’interpretation masculine (Best Actor):
Ensemble male cast of “Indigenes” by Rachid Bouchareb (Jamel Debbouze, Samy Naceri, Sami Bouajila, Roschdy Zem, Bernard Blancan)

Court-Metrage (Short Film):
Palme d’Or (short film): “Sniffer” by Bobby Peers

Prix Du Jury: “Premiera Nieve” by Pablo Aguero
Special Mention: “Conte de quartier” by Florence Miaihe

Presenters and Winners

Emmanuelle Bart prompted the Jury who awarded the Palme D’Or to The Wind That Shakes the Barley by Ken Loach.

Michele Yeoh had the honors of bestowing the Grand Prize to Flandres by Bruno Dumont.

The Best Screenplay Award went to Pedro Almodovar for Volver at the hand of Souleymane Ciss.

Tim Burton and Marion Cotillard presented Alejandro Gonzlez Irritu the Best Director Prize for his film Babel.

Diane Kruger was handed the Best Actor Award to the ensemble actors: Jamel Debbouze, Samy Naceri, Sami Bouajila, Roschdy Zem and Bernard Blancan, of the film “Days fo Glory” by Rachid Bouchareb.

Jean Rochefort bestowed the Best Actress Award to “a family of actresses.” to the six actresses in Pedro Almodovar’s film Volver: Penlope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Dueas, Chus Lampreave, Yohana Cobo and Blanca Portillo

Palme d’Or to a Short Film went to Sniffer by Bobbie Peers. The Short Film Jury presided by Andrei Konchalovsky also gave the Jury Prize to Primera Nieve by Pablo Aguero and Special Mention to Conte de Quartier by Florence Miailhe.