Cannes Film Fest 2004: Year 57–Moore’s Political Docu, Farenheit 9/11, Wins Top Award

The 57th Cannes Film Fest was held May 12-23, 2004.

The Palme d’Or honored the Michael Moore’s inflammatory American documentary, Fahrenheit 9/11.

The festival opened with Bad Education (La mala educación), directed by Pedro Almodóvar.

It closed with delousy musical, De-Lovely, directed by Irwin Winkler.



Quentin Tarantino, Jury President
Emmanuelle Béart
Edwidge Danticat
Tilda Swinton
Kathleen Turner
Benoît Poelvoorde
Jerry Schatzberg
Tsui Hark
Peter Von Bagh


2046 by Wong Kar-wai
Clean by Olivier Assayas
The Consequences of Love by Paolo Sorrentino
The Edukators by Hans Weingartner
Exils by Tony Gatlif
Fahrenheit 9/11 by Michael Moore
Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence by Oshii Mamoru
The Holy Girl by Lucrecia Martel
The Ladykillers by Joel and Ethan Coen
The Life and Death of Peter Sellers by Stephen Hopkins
Life Is a Miracle by Emir Kusturica
Look at Me by Agnès Jaoui
Mondovino by Jonathan Nossiter
The Motorcycle Diaries by Walter Salles
Nobody Knows by Hirokazu Koreeda
Oldboy by Park Chan-wook
Shrek 2 by Andrew Adamson, Kelly Asbury and Conrad Vernon
Tropical Malady by Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Woman Is the Future of Man by Hong Sang-soo


10 on Ten by Abbas Kiarostami
À ce soir by Laure Duthilleul
A Tout de Suite by Benoît Jacquot
Alexandrie… New York by Youssef Chahine
The Assassination of Richard Nixon by Niels Mueller
Bienvenue en Suisse by Léa Fazer
Cheongpung myeongwol by Kim Ui-seok
Crónicas by Sebastián Cordero
Dear Frankie by Shona Auerbach
Hotel by Jessica Hausner
Khakestar-o-khak by Atiq Rahimi
Kontroll by Antal Nimród
Lu cheng by Yang Chao
Marseille by Angela Schanelec
Moolaadé by Ousmane Sembène
Noite Escura by João Canijo
Non ti muovere by Sergio Castellitto
Poids léger by Jean-Pierre Améris
Shiza by Gulshat Omarova
Somersault by Cate Shortland
Whisky by Juan Pablo Rebella and Pablo Stoll


10e chambre – Instants d’audience by Raymond Depardon
Bab el shams by Yousry Nasrallah
Bad Santa by Terry Zwigoff
Dà Shì Jiàn by Johnnie To
Cinéastes à tout prix by Frédéric Sojcher
Dawn of the Dead by Zack Snyder
De-Lovely by Irwin Winkler
Épreuves d’artistes by Gilles Jacob
Five by Abbas Kiarostami
Glauber o Filme, Labirinto do Brasil by Silvio Tendler
Kamikaze Girls by Tetsuya Nakashima
Kill Bill: Vol. 2 by Quentin Tarantino
La mala educación by Pedro Almodóvar
Le fantôme d’Henri Langlois by Jacques Richard
Notre musique by Jean-Luc Godard
Salvador Allende by Patricio Guzmán
Shí miàn mái fú by Zhang Yimou
Troy by Wolfgang Petersen
Ya umer v detstve… by Georgi Paradzhanov
Z Channel: A Magnificent Obsession by Alexandra Cassavetes

Mother India by Mehboob Khan
Blowup by Michelangelo Antonioni
Bye Bye Brazil by Carlos Diegues
Deadlier Than the Male by Ralph Thomas
Black God, White Devil by Glauber Rocha
Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands by Bruno Barreto
Hair by Miloš Forman
The Battle of Algiers by Gillo Pontecorvo
The Inner Scar by Philippe Garrel
Le voyage d’Amélie by Daniel Duval
Michelangelo Eye to Eye by Michelangelo Antonioni
Macunaíma by Joaquim Pedro de Andrade
O Pagador de Promessas by Anselmo Duarte
Ordet by Carl Theodor Dreyer
Pickpocket by Robert Bresson
Before the Revolution by Bernardo Bertolucci
The New One-Armed Swordsman by Chang Cheh
Steamboat Bill Jr. by Buster Keaton and Charles Reisner
Entranced Earth by Glauber Rocha
The Big Red One by Samuel Fuller
The General by Buster Keaton and Clyde Bruckman
The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner by Tony Richardson
Vidas Secas by Nelson Pereira dos Santos


Palme d’Or: Fahrenheit 9/11, by Michael Moore
Grand Prix: Oldboy, by Park Chan-wook
Best Actress Award: Maggie Cheung in Clean
Best Actor Award: Yûya Yagira in Nobody Knows
Best Director Award: Exils, by Tony Gatlif
Best Screenplay Award: Agnès Jaoui and Jean-Pierre Bacri for Look at Me
Prix du Jury: Tropical Malady, by Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Prix Un Certain Regard: Moolaadé by Ousmane Sembène
Gras Savoye Award: Nathan Larson (for Music) in The Woodsman