Cannes Film Fest 1997: Year 50–Tie in Palme d’Or

The 50th Cannes Film Fest was held May on 7–18, 1997.

The Palme d’Or was jointly awarded to Taste of Cherry (Ta’m e guilas) by Abbas Kiarostami and Unagi by Shohei Imamura.

The festival opened with Luc Besson’s The Fifth Element.

It closed with Absolute Power, directed by Clint Eastwood.

Jury Members

 Isabelle Adjani (France) (jury president)
  • Gong Li (China)
  • Mira Sorvino (USA)
  • Paul Auster (USA)
  • Tim Burton (USA)
  • Luc Bondy (Switzerland)
  • Patrick Dupond (France)
  • Mike Leigh (UK)
  • Nanni Moretti (Italy)
  • Michael Ondaatje (Canada)

Feature film competition

  • Assassin(s) by Mathieu Kassovitz
  • The Brave by Johnny Depp
  • Chun gwong cha sit by Wong Kar-wai
  • The End of Violence by Wim Wenders
  • Funny Games by Michael Haneke
  • The Ice Storm by Ang Lee
  • Il principe di Homburg by Marco Bellocchio
  • Kini and Adams by Idrissa Ouedraogo
  • L.A. Confidential by Curtis Hanson
  • La femme défendue by Philippe Garel
  • La tregua by Francesco Rosi
  • Nil by Mouth by Gary Oldman
  • The Serpent’s Kiss by Philippe Rousselot
  • She’s So Lovely by Nick Cassavetes
  • The Sweet Hereafter by Atom Egoyan
  • Ta’m e guilass by Abbas Kiarostami
  • Unagi by Shohei Imamura
  • Welcome to Sarajevo by Michael Winterbottom
  • The Well by Samantha Lang
  • Western by Manuel Poirier

Un Certain Regard

1997 Un Certain Regard poster, original illustration by Milo Manara.

  • 12 Storeys by Eric Khoo
  • A, B, C… Manhattan by Amir Naderi
  • Akrebin Yolculuğu by Ömer Kavur
  • American Perfekt by Paul Chart
  • Brat by Aleksei Balabanov
  • Dong gong xi gong by Zhang Yuan
  • Enskilda samtal by Liv Ullmann
  • Gudia by Gautam Ghose
  • Histoire(s) du cinema by Jean-Luc Godard
  • In the Company of Men by Neil LaBute
  • Inside/Out by Rob Tregenza
  • Wind Echoing in My Being by Jeon Soo-il
  • La Buena Estrella by Ricardo Franco
  • La cruz by Alejandro Agresti
  • Love and Death on Long Island by Richard Kwietniowski
  • Marcello Mastroianni: mi ricordo, sì, io mi ricordo by Anna Maria Tatò
  • Marius et Jeannette by Robert Guédiguian
  • Mrs. Brown by John Madden
  • Post-Coitum, Animal Triste by Brigitte Roüan
  • Sunday by Jonathan Nossiter
  • A Casa by Šarūnas Bartas
  • Witman fiúk by János Szász

Films out of competition

  • Absolute Power by Clint Eastwood
  • Al-massir by Youssef Chahine
  • Michael Jackson’s Ghosts by Stan Winston
  • Hamlet by Kenneth Branagh
  • The Fifth Element by Luc Besson
  • Nirvana by Gabriele Salvatores
  • The Blackout by Abel Ferrara
  • Viagem ao Princípio do Mundo by Manoel de Oliveira
  • Welcome to Woop Woop by Stephan Elliott


 Palme d’Or:
    • Ta’m e guilass by Abbas Kiarostami
    • Unagi by Shōhei Imamura
  • Grand Prize of the Jury: The Sweet Hereafter by Atom Egoyan
  • Jury Prize: Western by Manuel Poirier
  • Best Actor: Sean Penn for She’s So Lovely
  • Best Actress: Kathy Burke for Nil by Mouth
  • Best Director: Wong Kar-wai for Chun gwong cha sit
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: …Is It the Design on the Wrapper? by Tessa Sheridan
  • Best Screenplay: The Ice Storm by James Schamus
  • Technical Grand Prize: She’s So Lovely and The Fifth Element by Thierry Arbogast
  • Palm of the Palms: Ingmar Bergman
  • 50th Anniversary Prize: Youssef Chahine (Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Caméra d’Or: Moe no suzaku by Naomi Kawase
  • Caméra d’Or – Special Mention: La Vie de Jésus by Bruno Dumont
  • Mercedes-Benz Award: Budbringeren by Pål Sletaune
  • Canal+ Award: Le signaleur by Benoît Mariage
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • The Sweet Hereafter by Atom Egoyan
    • Viagem ao Princípio do Mundo by Manoel de Oliveira
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: The Sweet Hereafter by Atom Egoyan
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention:
    • La Buena Estrella by Ricardo Franco
    • Viagem ao Princípio do Mundo by Manoel de Oliveira
  • Award of the Youth:
    • Foreign Film: Bent by Sean Mathias
    • French Film: J’ai horreur de l’amour by Laurence Ferreira Barbosa
  • François Chalais Award: Savrseni krug by Ademir Kenović