Cannes Film Fest 1996: Year 49–Mike Leigh’s Secrets and Lies

The 49th Cannes Film Fest was held May 9–20, 1996.

The Palme d’Or went to Mike Leigh’s Secrets & Lies;

The festival opened with the satire Ridicule, directed by Patrice Leconte

It closed with the indie comedy, Flirting with Disaster, directed by David O. Russell.

Jury Members

  • Francis Ford Coppola (USA) (president)
  • Nathalie Baye (France)
  • Greta Scacchi, actrice (Italy)
  • Michael Ballhaus (Germany)
  • Henry Chapier (France)
  • Atom Egoyan (Canada)
  • Eiko Ishioka (Japan)
  • Krzysztof Piesiewicz (Poland)
  • Antonio Tabucchi (Italy)
  • Anh Hung Tran (France)

Feature film competition

  • Breaking the Waves by Lars von Trier
  • Comment je me suis disputé… (ma vie sexuelle) by Arnaud Desplechin
  • Crash by David Cronenberg
  • Fargo by Joel Coen
  • Feng yue by Chen Kaige
  • Kansas City by Robert Altman
  • Kauas pilvet karkaavat by Aki Kaurismäki
  • La seconda volta by Mimmo Calopresti
  • Le huitième jour by Jaco Van Dormael
  • Les voleurs by André Téchiné
  • Nan guo zai jian, nan guo by Hou Hsiao-Hsien
  • Po di Sangui by Flora Gomes
  • Prea târziu by Lucian Pintilie
  • Ridicule by Patrice Leconte
  • Secrets & Lies by Mike Leigh
  • Stealing Beauty by Bernardo Bertolucci
  • The Quiet Room by Rolf de Heer
  • Sunchaser by Michael Cimino
  • The Van by Stephen Frears
  • Tierra by Julio Médem
  • Trois vies & une seule mort by Raúl Ruiz
  • Un héros très discret by Jacques Audiard

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard poster, original illustration by Jacques Loustal.

  • Bastard Out of Carolina by Anjelica Huston
  • Buenos Aires Vice Versa by Alejandro Agresi
  • Compagna di viaggio by Peter Del Monte
  • Conte d’été by Éric Rohmer
  • Cwał by Krzysztof Zanussi
  • Few of Us by Šarūnas Bartas
  • Fourbi by Alain Tanner
  • Gabbeh by Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • Haifa by Rashid Masharawi
  • I Shot Andy Warhol by Mary Harron
  • Irma Vep by Olivier Assayas
  • La Bouche de Jean-Pierre by Lucile Hadžihalilović
  • Looking for Richard by Al Pacino
  • Love Serenade by Shirley Barrett
  • Lulu by Srinivas Krishna
  • Mossane by Safi Faye
  • No Way to Forget by Richard Frankland
  • Pasts by Laila Pakalniņa
  • Pramis by Laila Pakalniņa
  • Some Mother’s Son by Terry George
  • Sydney by Paul Thomas Anderson
  • The Pallbearer by Matt Reeves
  • The Pillow Book by Peter Greenaway
  • The Waste Land by Deborah Warner
  • Un samedi sur la terre by Diane Bertrand

Films out of competition

  • Flirting with Disaster by David O. Russell
  • Girl 6 by Spike Lee
  • Il giorno della prima di Close Up by Nanni Moretti
  • Le affinità elettive by Paolo Taviani, Vittorio Taviani
  • Runaway Brain by Chris Bailey
  • Microcosmos by Claude Nuridsany, Marie Perennou
  • Trainspotting by Danny Boyle


 Palme d’Or: Secrets & Lies by Mike Leigh
  • Grand Prize of the Jury: Breaking the Waves by Lars von Trier
  • Jury Special Prize: Crash by David Cronenberg
  • Best Actor: Daniel Auteuil and Pascal Duquenne for Le huitième jour
  • Best Actress: Brenda Blethyn for Secrets & Lies
  • Best Director: Joel Coen for Fargo
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Szél by Marcell Iványi
  • Best Screenplay: Un héros très discret by Jacques Audiard, Alain Le Henry
  • Technical Grand Prize: Microcosmos: Le peuple de l’herbe by Claude Nuridsany, Marie Pérennou
  • Caméra d’Or: Love Serenade by Shirley Barrett
  • Mercedes-Benz Award: Les aveux de l’innocent by Jean-Pierre Améris
  • Canal+ Award: Planet Man by Andrew Bancroft
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Secrets & Lies by Mike Leigh
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention:
    • Chun hua meng lu by Cheng-sheng Lin
    • Kauas pilvet karkaavat by Aki Kaurismäki
  • Award of the Youth:
    • Foreign Film: Layla Lavan by Arnon Zadok
    • French Film: Les aveux de l’innocent by Jean-Pierre Améris