Cannes Film Fest 1984: Year 37–Wim Wenders’ Paris, Texas Wins Top Award

The 37th Cannes Film Fest was held 11–23 May 1984.

The Palme d’Or went to Wim Wenders’ Paris, Texas, starring Harry Dean Stanton

The festival opened with Fort Saganne, directed by Alain Corneau.

It closed with Roger Donaldson’s The Bounty, the third version of The Mutiny on the Bounty.

Jury Members

Dirk Bogarde, Jury President

  • Dirk Bogarde (UK) (president)
  • Franco Cristaldi (Italy)
  • Michel Deville (France)
  • Stanley Donen (USA)
  • Istvan Dosai (Hungary) (Cinématographie official)
  • Arne Hestenes (Norway) (journalist)
  • Isabelle Huppert (France)
  • Ennio Morricon (Italy)
  • Jorge Semprún (Spain)
  • Vadim Yusov (Soviet Union)

Jury: Camera d’Or

  1. Mehmet Basutcu (Turkey) (Golden Camera)
  2. José Luis Guarner (Spain) (Golden Camera)
  3. Bernard Jubard (France) (Golden Camera)
  4. Michel Jullien (Golden Camera)
  5. Samuel Lachize (France) (critic) (Golden Camera)
  6. Serge Leroy (France) (Golden Camera)
  7. Fee Vaillant (West Germany) (Golden Camera)

Feature film competition

  1. Another Country by Marek Kanievska
  2. Bayan ko: Kapit sa patalim by Lino Brocka
  3. The Bounty by Roger Donaldson
  4. Cal by Pat O’Connor
  5. Dges game utenebia by Lana Gogoberidze
  6. Enrico IV by Marco Bellocchio
  7. Forbrydelsens element by Lars von Trier
  8. Ghare Baire by Satyajit Ray
  9. La pirate by Jacques Doillon
  10. Los santos inocentes by Mario Camus
  11. Napló gyermekeimnek by Márta Mészáros
  12. Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders
  13. Quilombo by Carlos Diegues
  14. Success Is the Best Revenge by Jerzy Skolimowski
  15. Taxidi stin Kythera by Theodoros Angelopoulos
  16. Un dimanche à la champagne by Bertrand Tavernier
  17. Under the Volcano by John Huston
  18. Vigil by Vincent Ward
  19. Where the Green Ants Dream by Werner Herzog

Un Certain Regard

  • Abel Gance et son Napoléon by Nelly Kaplan
  • Cóndores no entierran todos los días by Francisco Norden
  • De grens by Leon de Winter
  • De weg naar Bresson by Leo De Boer, Jurriën Rood
  • El Norte by Gregory Nava (US, indie)
  • Feroz by Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón
  • Khandhar by Mrinal Sen
  • Le jour S… by Jean Pierre Lefebvre
  • Le tartuffe by Gérard Depardieu
  • Man of Flowers by Paul Cox
  • Mária-nap by Judit Elek
  • Yeoin janhoksa moulleya moulleya by Doo-yong Lee
  • Un poeta nel Cinema: Andreij Tarkovskij by Donatella Baglivo
  • Where Is Parsifal? by Henri Helman

Films out of competition

  • Beat Street by Stan Lathan
  • Broadway Danny Rose by Woody Allen
  • Choose Me by Alan Rudolph
  • Efter repetitionen by Ingmar Bergman
  • Fort Saganne by Alain Corneau
  • Once Upon a Time in America by Sergio Leone


 Palme d’Or: Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders
  • Grand Prix: Napló gyermekeimnek by Márta Mészáros
  • Best Actor: Francisco Rabal and Alfredo Landa for Los santos inocentes (Ex aequo)
  • Best Actress: Helen Mirren for Cal
  • Best Director: Bertrand Tavernier for Un dimanche à la campagne
  • Best Screenplay: Theodoros Angelopoulos, Tonino Guerra, and Thanassis Valtinos for Taxidi stin Kythera
  • Best Artistic Contribution: Peter Biziou (cinematographer) for Another Country
  • Technical Grand Prize: Forbrydelsens element by Lars von Trier
  • Short Film Palme d’Or:
    • Le Cheval de fer by Gérald Frydman and Pierre Levie
    • Tchouma by David Takaichvili
  • Caméra d’Or: Stranger Than Paradise by Jim Jarmusch
  • Perspectives du Cinéma Award: Liberté, la nuit by Philippe Garrel
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • Memórias do Cárcere by Nelson Pereira dos Santos
    • Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders
    • Taxidi stin Kythera by Theodoros Angelopoulos
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention: Los santos inocentes by Mario Camus
  • Award of the Youth:
    • Foreign Film: Epílogo by Gonzalo Suárez
    • French Film: Boy Meets Girl by Leos Carax