Cannes Film Fest 1981: Year 34–Wajda, Szabo Big Winners

The 34th Cannes Film Fest was held on May 13–27, 1981.

The Palme d’Or went to the Człowiek z żelaza by Andrzej Wajda.

The festival closed with Honeysuckle Rose, directed by Jerry Schatzberg.

Jury Members

  • Jacques Deray (France) (jury president)
  • Ellen Burstyn (USA)
  • Jean-Claude Carrière (France)
  • Robert Chazal (France)
  • Attilio D’Onofrio (Italy)
  • Christian Defaye (Switzerland) (journalist)
  • Carlos Diegues (Brazil)
  • Antonio Gala (Spain)
  • Andrey Petrov (Soviet Union)
  • Douglas Slocombe (UK)

Feature film competition

  • Beau-père by Bertrand Blier
  • Chariots of Fire by Hugh Hudson
  • Cserepek by István Gaál
  • Człowiek z żelaza by Andrzej Wajda
  • Engel aus Eisen by Thomas Brasch
  • Excalibur by John Boorman
  • Faktas by Almantas Grikevičius
  • Heaven’s Gate by Michael Cimino
  • La pelle by Liliana Cavani
  • La tragedia di un uomo ridicolo by Bernardo Bertolucci
  • Les Années lumière by Alain Tanner
  • Les Uns et les Autres by Claude Lelouch
  • Looks and Smiles by Ken Loach
  • Mephisto by István Szabó
  • Montenegro by Dušan Makavejev
  • Neige by Juliet Berto
  • Passione d’amore by Ettore Scola
  • Patrimonio nacional by Luis García Berlanga
  • Possession by Andrzej Żuławski
  • Quartet by James Ivory
  • Thief (Violent Streets) by Michael Mann
  • Tulipää by Pirjo Honkasalo and Pekka Lehto

Un Certain Regard

  • A tani by Péter Bacsó
  • Elef Nishikot K’tanot by Mira Recanati
  • Cerromaior by Luís Filipe Rocha
  • Dios los cría…by Jacobo Morales
  • Eijanaika by Shohei Imamura
  • Eu Te Amo by Arnaldo Jabor
  • Golyamoto noshtno kapane by Binka Zhelyazkova
  • Ko to tamo peva by Slobodan Šijan
  • Let There Be Light by John Huston
  • Memoirs of a Survivor by David Gladwell
  • Mur murs by Agnès Varda
  • Samo jednom se ljubi by Rajko Grlić
  • Satah Se Uthata Aadmi by Mani Kaul
  • Un moment de bonheur by Yves Laumet

Films out of competition

  • Anima – Symphonie phantastique by Titus Leber
  • Bodas de sangre by Carlos Saura
  • Da nao tian gong by Wan Laiming
  • From Mao to Mozart: Isaac Stern in China by Murray Lerner
  • Hands Up! by Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Honeysuckle Rose by Jerry Schatzberg
  • Ku nao ren de xiao by Yimin Deng, Yanjin Yang
  • La Mouche (known as A Légy or The Fly) by Ferenc Rofusz
  • Malu tianshi by Mu-jih Yuan
  • The Postman Always Rings Twice by Bob Rafelson
  • This Is Elvis by Malcolm Leo, Andrew Solt
  • Tre fratelli by Francesco Rosi


 Palme d’Or: Człowiek z żelaza by Andrzej Wajda
  • Grand Prix: Les Années lumière by Alain Tanner
  • Best Actor: Ugo Tognazzi for La tragedia di un uomo ridicolo
  • Best Actress: Isabelle Adjani for Quartet and Possession
  • Best Supporting Actor: Ian Holm for Chariots of Fire
  • Best Supporting Actress: Yelena Solovey for Faktas
  • Best Screenplay: István Szabó for Mephisto
  • Best Artistic Contribution: Excalibur by John Boorman
  • Technical Grand Prize: Les Uns et les Autres for the sound quality
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Moto Perpetuo by Béla Vajda
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film:
    • Le Rat by Elisabeth Huppert
    • Zea by André Leduc
  • Caméra d’Or: Desperado City by Vadim Glowna
  • Young Cinema Award:
    • Looks and Smiles by Ken Loach
    • Neige by Juliet Berto and Jean-Henri Roger
  • ‘La Chance de Cannes’ Award: Prends 10000 balles et casse-toi by Mahmoud Zemmouri
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • Malou by Jeanine Meerapfel
    • Mephisto by István Szabó
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Człowiek z żelaza by Andrzej Wajda
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury – Special Mention:
    • Chariots of Fire by Hugh Hudson
    • Looks and Smiles by Ken Loach