Cannes Film Fest 1980: Year 33–Fosse’s All That Jazz Ties with Kurosawa’s Kagemusha

The 33rd Cannes Film Fest was held between 9 and 23 May 1980.

The Palme d’Or honored two films: Bob Fosse’s musical, All That Jazz, and Kagemusha by Akira Kurosawa.

The showing of Tarkovsky’s film Stalker was interrupted by the electricians strike.

The festival opened with Fantastica, directed by Gilles Carle and closed with Sono fotogenico, directed by Dino Risi.

Jury Members

 Kirk Douglas (USA) (jury president)
  • Ken Adam (UK)
  • Robert Benayoun (France)
  • Veljko Bulajić (Yugoslavia)
  • Leslie Caron (France)
  • Charles Champlin (USA)
  • André Delvaux (Belgium)
  • Gian Luigi Rondi (Italy)
  • Michael Spencer (Canada)
  • Albina du Boisrouvray (France)

Feature film competition

  • All That Jazz by Bob Fosse
  • Being There by Hal Ashby
  • The Big Red One by Samuel Fuller
  • Breaker Morant by Bruce Beresford
  • Bye Bye Brasil by Carlos Diegues
  • Constans by Krzysztof Zanussi
  • Dedicatoria by Jaime Chávarri
  • Ek Din Pratidin by Mrinal Sen
  • Fantastica by Gilles Carle
  • Jaguar by Lino Brocka
  • Kagemusha by Akira Kurosawa
  • Kaltgestellt by Bernhard Sinkel
  • La terrazza by Ettore Scola
  • Le Chaînon manquant by Picha
  • The Long Riders by Walter Hill (US)
  • Loulou by Maurice Pialat
  • Mon oncle d’Amérique by Alain Resnais
  • Örökség by Márta Mészáros
  • Out of the Blue by Dennis Hopper
  • Poseban tretman by Goran Paskaljević
  • Salto nel vuoto by Marco Bellocchio
  • Sauve qui peut (la vie) by Jean-Luc Godard
  • Une semaine de vacances by Bertrand Tavernier

Un Certain Regard

  • Causa králík by Jaromil Jireš
  • Csontváry by Zoltán Huszárik
  • Dani od snova by Vlatko Gilic
  • Der Kandidat by Volker Schlöndorff
  • Der Willi-Busch-Report by Niklaus Schilling
  • Kristoffers hus by Lars Lennart Forsberg
  • La femme enfant by Raphaële Billetdoux
  • Maledetti vi amerò by Marco Tullio Giordana
  • Portrait d’un homme ‘à 60% parfait: Billy Wilder by Annie Tresgot
  • Sitting Ducks by Henry Jaglom
  • Tcherike-ye Tara by Bahram Bayzai
  • The Gamekeeper by Ken Loach
  • Wege in der Nacht by Krzysztof Zanussi

Films out of competition

  • Breaking Glass by Brian Gibson
  • La città delle donne by Federico Fellini
  • Le risque de vivre by Gérald Calderon
  • Lightning Over Water by Wim Wenders, Nicholas Ray
  • Nezha nao hai by Yan Ding Xian, Wang Shuchen, Jingda Xu
  • Sono fotogenico by Dino Risi
  • Stalker by Andrei Tarkovsky
  • Stir by Stephen Wallace
  • SuperTotò by Brando Giordani, Emilio Ravel
  • Téléphone public by Jean-Marie Périer


 Palme d’Or:
All That Jazz by Bob Fosse
Kagemusha by Akira Kurosawa
  • Grand Prix: Mon oncle d’Amérique by Alain Resnais (unanimously)
  • Jury Prize: Constans by Krzysztof Zanussi
  • Best Actor: Michel Piccoli for Salto nel vuoto
  • Best Actress: Anouk Aimee for Salto nel vuoto
  • Best Supporting Actor: Jack Thompson for Breaker Morant
  • Best Supporting Actress:
    • Milena Dravić for Poseban tretman
    • Carla Gravina for La terrazza
  • Best Screenplay: Ettore Scola, Agenore Incrocci and Furio Scarpelli for La terrazza
  • Technical Grand Prize: Le Risque de vivre by Gérald Calderon (which was shown out of competition)
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Seaside Woman by Oscar Grillo
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film:
    • Canada Vignettes: The Performer by Norma Bailey
    • Krychle by Zdenek Smetana
  • Caméra d’Or: Adrien’s Story by Jean-Pierre Denis
  • FIPRESCI Prize: Mon oncle d’Amérique by Alain Resnais
  • FIPRESCI Prize – Special Mention: Gaijin – Os Caminhos da Liberdade by Tizuka Yamasaki
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury:
    • Constans by Krzysztof Zanussi
    • Stalker by Andrei Tarkovsky (special award)