Cannes Film Fest 1978: Year 31–New Sidebar, Un Certain Regard

The 31st Cannes Film Fest was held on May 16-30.

The Palme d’Or went to the Italian film, L’albero degli zoccoli, by Ermanno Olmi.

This edition introduced a new non-competitive section, Un Certain Regard, which replaced ‘Les Yeux Fertiles’ (1975-1977), ‘L’Air du temps’ and ‘Le Passé compose.

The festival opened with Moy laskovyy i nezhnyy zver, directed by Emil Loteanu.

It closed with Fedora, directed by Billy Wilder.

Jury Members

 Alan J. Pakula (USA) (jury president)
  • Franco Brusat (Italy)
  • François Chalais (France)
  • Michel Ciment (France)
  • Claude Goretta (Switzerland)
  • Andrei Konchalovsky (Soviet Union)
  • Harry Saltzman (USA)
  • Liv Ullmann (Norway)
  • Georges Wakhévitch (France)

Feature film competition

  • Ai no Bōrei by Nagisa Oshima
  • An Unmarried Woman by Paul Mazursky
  • Bravo maestro by Rajko Grlić
  • Ciao maschio by Marco Ferreri
  • Coming Home by Hal Ashby (US)
  • Despair by Rainer Werner Fassbinder
  • Die linkshändige Frau by Peter Handke
  • Ecce bombo by Nanni Moretti
  • Egy erkölcsös éjszaka by Károly Makk
  • El recurso del método by Miguel Littín
  • Kravgi gynaikon by Jules Dassin
  • L’albero degli zoccoli by Ermanno Olmi
  • Los ojos vendados by Carlos Saura
  • Los restos del naufragio by Ricardo Franco
  • Midnight Express by Alan Parker
  • Molière by Ariane Mnouchkine
  • Moy laskovyy i nezhnyy zver by Emil Loteanu
  • Pretty Baby by Louis Malle (US)
  • Spirala by Krzysztof Zanussi
  • The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith by Fred Schepisi
  • The Shout by Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Violette Nozière by Claude Chabrol
  • Who’ll Stop the Rain by Karel Reisz (US)

Un Certain Regard

  • Aika hyvä ihmiseksi by Rauni Mollberg
  • Alyam, alyam by Ahmed El Maanouni
  • Coronel Delmiro Gouveia by Geraldo Sarno
  • Człowiek z marmuru by Andrzej Wajda
  • Die Rückkehr des alten Herrn by Vojtěch Jasný
  • Grand hôtel des palmes by Memè Perlini
  • Hitler – ein Film aus Deutschland by Hans-Jürgen Syberberg
  • Koko, le gorille qui parle by Barbet Schroeder
  • Le dossier 51 by Michel Deville
  • Nahapet by Henrik Malyan
  • Ocaña, retrat intermittent by Ventura Pons
  • The New Klan: Heritage of Hate by Leslie Shatz, Eleanor Bingham
  • Un balcon en forêt by Michel Mitrani

Films out of competition

  • Dawn Of The Dead by George A. Romero
  • Fedora by Billy Wilder
  • The Last Waltz by Martin Scorsese


.Palme d’Or: L’albero degli zoccoli by Ermanno Olmi
  • Grand Prix:
    • Ciao maschio by Marco Ferreri
    • The Shout by Jerzy Skolimowski
  • Best Actor: Jon Voight for Coming Home
  • Best Actress: Tie
    • Jill Clayburgh for An Unmarried Woman
    • Isabelle Huppert for Violette Nozière
  • Best Director: Nagisa Oshimafor Ai no Bōrei
  • Technical Grand Prize: Pretty Baby by Louis Malle
  • Golden Camera: Alambrista! by Robert M. Young
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: La Traversée de l’Atlantique à la rame by Jean-François Laguionie
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film:
    • A Doonesbury Special by John Hubley, Faith Hubley and Garry Trudeau
    • Oh My Darling by Børge Ring
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • Man of Marble by Andrzej Wajda (Unanimously)
    • Fragrance of Wild Flowers by Srdjan Karanovic
    • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury:
  • L’albero degli zoccoli by Ermanno Olmi
    • Spirala by Krzysztof Zanussi