Cannes Film Fest 1973: Year 26–Tie–The Hireling and Scarecrow Share Top Award

The 26th Cannes Film Fest was held on May 10–25, 1973.

The Pame d’Or was again a tie: The Hireling by Alan Bridges and Scarecrow by Jerry Schatzberg.

At this festival two new sections were added: ‘Étude et documents’ and ‘Perspectives du Cinéma Français’ (which ran until 1991).

The festival opened with the musical Godspell, directed by David Greene.

Closing night was a musical biopic of Billie Holiday, Lady Sings the Blues, directed by Sidney J. Furie.

“Swastika,” a documentary by Philippe Mora, got negative reactions and caused disturbance among audience by showing Adolf Hitler’s daily life

The Holy Mountain by Alejandro Jodorowsky, stirred controversy due to its depiction of extreme violence.

Jury Members

 Ingrid Bergman (Sweden)(jury president)
  • Jean Delannoy (France)
  • Lawrence Durrell (UK)
  • Rodolfo Echeverria (Spain)
  • Boreslav Michalek (Poland)
  • François Nourissier France)
  • Leo Pestelli (Italy)(journalist)
  • Sydney Pollack (USA)
  • Robert Rozhdestvensky Soviet Union) (author)
  • Robert Enrico (France) (short films president)
  • Samuel Lachize (France) (critic) (short films)
  • Alexandre Marin (short films)

Feature Competition

  • A Promessa directed by António de Macedo
  • Un Amleto di meno directed by Carmelo Bene
  • Ana y los lobos directed by Carlos Saura
  • Belle directed by André Delvaux
  • Bisturi, la mafia Bianca directed by Luigi Zampa
  • The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds directed by Paul Newman
  • Electra Glide in Blue directed by James William Guercio
  • Le Far-West directed by Jacques Brel
  • Film d’amore e d’anarchia, ovvero: stamattina alle 10, in via dei Fiori, nella nota casa di tolleranza…directed by Lina Wertmüller
  • Godspell directed by David Greene
  • La Grande Bouffe directed by Marco Ferreri
  • The Hireling directed by Alan Bridges (co-winner)
  • L’Invitation directed by Claude Goretta
  • Jeremy directed by Arthur Barron
  • La maman et la putain directed by Jean Eustache
  • La Mort d’un bûcheron directed by Gilles Carle
  • La otra imagen directed by Antoni Ribas
  • La Planète sauvage directed by René Laloux
  • Monolog directed by Ilya Averbakh
  • O Lucky Man! directed by Lindsay Anderson
  • Petőfi ’73 directed by Ferenc Kardos
  • Sanatorium Pod Klepsydrą directed by Wojciech Jerzy Has
  • Scarecrow directed by Jerry Schatzberg (co-winner)
  • Vogliamo i colonnelli directed by Mario Monicelli

Films out of Competition

  • A Doll’s House directed by Joseph Losey
  • Future Shock directed by Alex Grasshoff
  • L’Impossible Objet directed by John Frankenheimer
  • La Nuit Américaine (Night for Day) directed by François Truffaut
  • Lady Sings the Blues directed by Sidney J. Furie
  • Lo Païs directed by Gérard Guérin
  • Olivier Messiaen et les Oiseaux directed by Michel Fano, Denise Tual
  • Picasso, Peintre Du Siècle 1900-1973 directed by Lauro Venturi
  • Swastika directed by Philippe Mora
  • The Holy Mountain directed by Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • Visions of Eight directed by Miloš Forman, Claude Lelouch, Yuri Ozerov, Mai Zetterling, Kon Ichikawa, John Schlesinger, Arthur Penn, Michael Pfleghar
  • Viskningar och rop directed by Ingmar Bergman
  • Wattstax directed by Mel Stuart
  • We Can’t Go Home Again directed by Nicholas Ray


  • Grand Prix du Festival International du Film: Tie
    • The Hireling by Alan Bridges
    • Scarecrow by Jerry Schatzberg
    • Al Pacino and Gene Hackman in Scarecrow
  • Grand Prix: La maman et la putain by Jean Eustache
  • Jury Prize: Tie
    • Sanatorium Pod Klepsydrą by Wojciech Has
    • L’Invitation by Claude Goretta
  • Best Actor: Giancarlo Giannini for Film d’amore e d’anarchia, ovvero: stamattina alle 10, in via dei Fiori, nella nota casa di tolleranza…
  • Best Actress: Joanne Woodward for The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds
  • Technical Grand Prize: Viskningar och rop by Ingmar Bergman
  • Special Award: La Planète sauvage by René Laloux
  • Best First Work: Jeremy by Arthur Barron
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: Balablok by Břetislav Pojar
  • Jury Prize – Best Short Film: Az 1812-es év by Sándor Reisenbüchler
  • FIPRESCI Prize:
    • La Grande Bouffe by Marco Ferreri
    • La maman et la putain by Jean Eustache
  • OCIC Award: Scarecrow by Jerry Schatzberg